Not Your Sidekick

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme held by Breaking the Spine

Author:
 C.B. Lee
Publication Date: September 8
Publisher: Duet Books

Welcome to Andover… where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef-up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, who Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

Its about a gay superhero (its filed under LGBTQ), so you can’t get much cooler than that. And, to make it even better, its not a comic book. I really love superheroes, but I have such a hard time reading comics, so I’m excited by the possible rise of Superhero Books.

 

Gotta Read ’em All!

This Read-a-Thon is hosted by Read At Midnight, who also did the Pokemon Go Book Tag just in case you were wondering how much its taken over her life.

For me this read-a-thon comes at whats either a great time or a terrible time: the first week of college. That means that I will probably be combining books – which yes, will cost me points according to the FAQ – but I’ll still be reading and posting about lots of Pokemon so it will still be fun!

I’ve set up my list so that there are some badges that I won’t have to do in case I run out of time, picking books that could work for more than one badge so I don’t need to stress if I can’t read one for every gym. That being said, I’d prefer to

My393Piplup_DP_anime_2 Pokemon

If you’ve not read the original post – and you really should which is why I linked to it in the first place – you need to know that part of the challenge can include leveling up your own Pokemon and, of course, I chose Piplup!

Evolutions: 

  • Level 50 CP is Prinplup
  • Level 400 CP is Empoleon

 

Continue reading “Gotta Read ’em All!”

Spiderman

Media Monday
Movie Review
Contains Spoilers

Until about a month ago, the only Spiderman I had ever seen was The Amazing Spiderman as well as a few assorted episodes of I’m not even sure which television show. Needless to say, I was far from being an ‘expert’ or even a big fan. The idea of a nerdy superhero just appealed to me.

It was a pretty good movie. Predictable, of course, but good. Mary Jane was something new to me (I think she showed up in an episode or two of the Spiderman TV Series that I watched, but that’s the extent of my knowledge) and I absolutely fell in love with her. Honestly. She’s a great character (with a terrible taste in men). Harry annoyed me (so predictable) and my biggest complain – although this isn’t this movie’s fault – is that its almost exactly the plot of The Amazing Spiderman.

Oscorp guy does experiment on himself. Happens to have strange connection to both Peter and his love interest. Peter breaks it off with said love interest because its too “dangerous.” Uncle Ben dies at the beginning; some one else’s dad dies at the end.

Spiderman in a nutshell, ladies and gentlemen.

Continue reading “Spiderman”

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme held by Breaking the Spine


Author: Jaye Robin Brown
Publication Date: August 30
Publisher: HarperCollins

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ and Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.

Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she’s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

RWBY Volume 2 Screening

Media Monday
Webseries Review

No Spoilers! 

As I mentioned on my review of RWBY Volume 1, the reason I watched the first season was because of a special screening that I was going to be attending with my best friend.

The Showing

If I had to pick the most insane thing that ever happened to me, I’d pick this. Because I don’t know how else to explain the insanity, I’ll be giving a play-by-play using the timestamps on the text updates I was sending my mom.

I literally woke up the next morning and had to get out my phone and look at the photos to prove to myself that THIS ACTUALLY HAPPENED!

  • 6:40 pm
    • I arrived at the theater and met my BFF’s sister
  • 6:50
    • My BFF finally arrived and joined us.
  • 7:00
    • Credits start
  • 7:15
    • They start Volume one and we all get confused (because, remember, its supposed to be a showing of Volume two)
    • Someone leaves to get a manager
  • 7:20
    • We still don’t know whats going on
    • Someone else leaves to get a manager
    • We start laughing about it
  • 7:25
    • The screen goes blank
    • Someone from the theater comes in and says they think they can have it running in about 30 minutes
  • 7:50
    • The screen is still blank, so someone comes in and says we can watch Volume 1, and “as soon as we have Volume 2 up and running you can watch that.”
  • 8:53
    • Volume 1 is still playing
    • “Volume 2 will start at 9:30” – the manager
  • 9:42
    • Volume one is over by this point
    • “It should start in ten minutes or so” – the manager
  • 9:53
    • Someone starts playing music from RWBY (it has a pretty amazing sound track) on their iphone and we have an impromptu karaoke session
    • I have been forbidden from sharing the video of my BFF singing with anyone
  • 9:57
    • The manager comes back in and says “it will be a few minutes”
    • A man stands up and says “Sir my chair just broke” and holds up the cushion from the bottom of his chair.
    • We all laugh.
    • The manager looks so done with us
  • 10:00
    • My BFF starts using me as a pillow and her sister as a foot rest
  • 10:15
    • All hell broke loose
    • The man who broke the chair cushion was asked to pose with it
    • Someone offered him a sharpie
    • He signed it
  • 10:19
    • Other people start signing the chair
    • At some point a worker for the theater comes in and catches us signing the chair. He signs it to and tells the man – dubbed “Broken Chair Man” – that he can keep it.
    • We made a hashtag on twitter: #BrokenChairMan (I’m linking to it in case you don’t believe me)
  • 10:25
    • Someone started playing Taps on their phone
    • We held a funeral for the chair
  • 10:36
    • Volume 2 is FINALLY about to start (like, they started some quick previews and everything)
  • 10:40
    • My BFF’s sister leaves and makes her walk her out
    • A RWBY chibi episode starts and my BFF has to run to get back to see it
  • 1:18 am
    • It is finally over and we all head home
    • Broken Chair Man took the seat with him, I believe.
    • The manager gave us the contact info of Tugg (the company that sent them the wrong volume) so we could complain to them instead. I’m not sure anyone did, we had too much fun (and the theater gave us free refils all night to keep us quiet)

Volume 2

Volume 2 was much, much better than volume one, and if you’ve read my review of volume 1, you’ll know that I really, really loved it. Like, a lot. But volume 2 was much better. It had a more diverse cast of characters – everyone in Volume 1 was white! But not so in Volume 2! – and the background characters were fully animated, so they weren’t just black shadows.

The storyline was also much better, and even funnier (it starts with the most epic food fight ever) and it also managed to incorporate social issues (and my favorite teacher, Professor Ooblek, got a huge part).

Theres not much else I can say without spoiling anything, just know that if you liked Volume 1 this one is so much better!

Social Media

Continue reading “RWBY Volume 2 Screening”

A Darkly Beating Heart

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme held by Breaking the Spine

Author: Lindsay Smith
Publication Date: October 25
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

A troubled girl confronts her personal demons in this time-travel thriller alternating between present day and 19th century Japan.

No one knows how to handle Reiko. She is full of hatred; all she can think about is how to best hurt herself and those people closest to her. After a failed suicide attempt at her home in Seattle, Reiko’s parents send her to spend the summer with family in Japan, hoping she will learn to control her emotions. But while visiting Kuramagi, a historic village preserved to reflect the nineteenth-century Edo period, Reiko finds herself slipping backward in time into the nineteenth-century life of Miyu, a young woman even more vengeful than Reiko herself. Reiko loves escaping into Miyu’s life . . . until she discovers Kuramagi’s dark secret and must face down Miyu’s demons as well as her own.

LGBTQ with time travel in Japan? Sign me up.

July 2016 Wrap Up

This month was Camp NaNoWriMo which I didn’t get as much done on as I would have liked, but I also started my first ever job, so I feel as though thats a pretty good excuse. I also played a lot of Wii U since I just bought that with my first paycheck. Pretty awesome, I know (raise your hand if you’re PUMPED for Breath of the Wild).

Another thing I did this month: hold a a funeral for a CHAIR at a special screening of the web show RWBY (if you’re interested in this cheek out next week’s Media Monday). And it was the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!! Did anyone go to a Midnight release? I did!

PS: If you’ve not voted in my Poll yet, please do!!

Book Haul

Zodiac by Romina Russel

Unnatural Creatures compiled by Neil Gamman

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, etc all

The Unofficial Guide to Crafting the World of Harry Potter by Jamie Harrington

Books Read

Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly

The Princess in the Opal Mask by Jenny Lundquist

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, etc all

Posts

Book Reviews

Media Monday

Top Ten Tuesday

Waiting on Wednesday

Other

Camp NaNo & Writing

Unfortunately I didn’t get hardly any NaNoWriting done, but I had fun for what I did do, so thats what matters!

Posts

Memorable Moments

Continue reading “July 2016 Wrap Up”