NaNo Nerves and Nutcrackers

Its October, and, according to my friends, its The Month Of Halloween. Everyone around me is panicking because their Halloween costume isn’t done. I’m panicking because I don’t have a plot (nor a completed halloween costume, but I have priorities). Yep, NaNo is right around the corner and as usual I’m not ready for it. Drat. I promised I was going to be better this year.

I want to do something different this year, I’m tired of Aleinea (I never thought I would say that). the fictional world in which I’ve spent most of my NaNo Noveling years. But different how? I have several story ideas; one – which I almost used last year – involves a dragon secretly ruling a city; another has dwarves and elves; and the last came to me several years ago during a show of The Nutcracker.

The last idea, the Nutcracker one, is my favorite right now. Granted, I’ve said that before, and its still not written. Perhaps I should clarify before I go on. I’m not a ballerina. I was, a long time ago, but I’ve never performed in The Nutcracker Ballet. I’ve been in an ice show, thats right, I’m a figure skater. In my, not biased at all, (say it with me, yeah right) opinion, the Ice Show is far better than the Ballet. And thus an idea was born, an idea to give the Nutcracker the retelling that every other story ever – Cinderella, Rapunzel, Alice in Wonderland, Sherlock Holmes – has been given. But Camryn, you say, the Nutcracker isn’t a book, right? Well yes and no, and neither were Cinderella and Rapunzel, they started as oral stories, but thats another story. However,  the Nutcracker is a book, and I don’t mean the short illustrated copy you read on Christmas Eve.

The Nutcracker was first written by E.T.A. Hoffman, a man so wonderful he had three letters in his name. Take that George R.R. Martin. Soon another famous man, Alexander Dumas published his version of the tale. It was that version that soon had a play based on it, then, later a ballet. So to put it simply the Nutcracker Ballet is based on a play, which is based on a book, which is based upon another book, which is a satirical look at society.

So the thought train started in Nano Land, and is now in the Sugar Plum Forest. Whoops. Never fear, this isn’t an essay, and I can simply return to the previous thought by saying, I’m returning to the previous thought (don’t do that on a school essay. seriously. don’t.) To make a long story short, this is the story I’m planning on writing for NaNo this year. Just like I was planning on writing it last year, and the year before. So I may write this, or I may set down on November 1st and randomly come up with a better idea. That remains to be seen.

3 thoughts on “NaNo Nerves and Nutcrackers

  1. That sounds awesome! I am definitely going to do it, I have been hardcore World Building for the story I want to tell and I am starting to get character outlines created, do you have anything that you do to prepare for NaNo?

    Like

    1. Thank you!
      Sure thing, I was actually typing up a post, it will probably be up tomorrow, with some tips and such. The best thing you can do is set yourself a goal, of say __ minutes per day. Even if you just start with 15 minutes a day, once you allot that time and start writing, you’ll find that you don’t want to stop.
      Good luck, and enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

