Nightly NaNo Update: Day Four

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.56.24 PMI didn’t get much done today (thank you ice skating practice) because apparently the world doesn’t stop for NaNoWriMo. How rude.

So after skating, which was hectic, as usual, I didn’t even get home until after eight p.m. and I stayed up writing until after 10. So since that’s the only time I had to write, its kind of amazing that I wrote as much as I did. I would love to keep up the pace I had the second day (5,00 words!), but I

Save often!
Save often!

doubt that will happen. Still, as long as I finish before my mother I will be happy, haha.

But I did officially hit 10,000 words today, which was an exciting moment. This is the first year I’ve ever been this far ahead of the target daily goal, and I would love to keep it that way.


Excerpt: 

“Dva!” gasped the Snow Person behind her, before they too fled.

Claire stumbled, and fell backward into the snow. “Please, kind sir,” she asked, “let me return to my home.”

Dva stepped forward. “No,” he said. “I will not allow you to return home and bring back your human reinforcements, particularly not the philosopher. No, no, no, you, miss, will stay right here, forever.” Claire was fortunate that Dva did not yet know that she was responsible for the death of A-deen, else she would have been burned to a crisp by the vicious Second Head. Another thing she did not know, was that after he saw her, Godfather Drosselmeyer had pushed Fritz out of the parlor, sending him to the cellar to look for his sister, and rushed up to his work room. No human could break through Dva’s snares, but little did Dva know, there was something better than humans.

As Dva stared at Claire and began contemplating what to do with her – she would make a lovely servant for his manor – the magic was breached, by two with a singular and simple purpose: defend the girl. Drosselmeyer’s dancing dolls, the talk of the town, stepped into the clearing and toward Dva. Like the party guests, Dva had never seen such a thing, so he raced away, and Claire threw herself at the dolls. “Oh thank goodness!” she cried. “You can take me home!”


One last thing before I rant a little about Sugar Plum, I have a crafting blog that may interest some of you, CraftingOnPinsAndNeedles.

I went through several youtube results, but apparently I’m the only one who thinks the Sugar Plum should wear purple?? So have this beautiful dancer who just happens to be wearing the wrong color. One thing I don’t like about this, however, is where Sugar Plum ‘breaks the fourth wall’ and interacts with the audience to bow, I prefer (and am more used to) the show running more smoothly. But she is still very, very talented.

Leave a Reply

