Nightly NaNo Update: Day 7

Day 7Whoops I keep forgetting to update!! I’m sorry! I’ve been busy and not writing as much as I should. But at least I’ve managed at least the minimum. To quote my teacher, “if the minimum were not enough, it wouldn’t be the minimum.”

I had a friend’s birthday party yesterday, and today I was at a NaNo Write-In! Write-ins are a blast, and if you ever have the chance to go, you really, really should. Have you been to a write-in? What were your experiences? I’d love to hear from you, so comment away. At ours, I learned that, while Write-Ins are fun and eventful, they’re sometimes a little too eventful. Ours was at the mall, and I had a hard time toning out all the people would were wandering around. One of the other writers brought in her Writing Totem, a moose named Marvin, who hung out in my hat, wrapped in my scarf for a while.

I made a new friend for #nanowrimo

A photo posted by Camryn (@thewritingcrafter) on Nov 7, 2015 at 11:42am PST

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

I’ve also been working on knitting, I’ve finished my Sea Witch Cowl, cast on Curiouser and Curiouser, and charted Queens Never Make Bargains (there’s more info and updates on my knitting on my blog craftingonpinsandneedles). But I did get some knitting done, and some writing, but not as much as I wish I had. I’ve hit the dreaded week two doldrums, but thankfully I have enough words to let my self slide if I have to. I strained my wrist, which makes typing hard, unfortunately. However, I’ve learned that switching POV really helps, and I’ll write up a post about that soon.

Oh! I almost forgot my great surprise when I got home yesterday, one of my favorite authors, Anita Grace Howard retweeted me on her twitter!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Here’s the Spanish Dance from the Nutcracker (which I’ve performed (twice!) in the Nutcracker on Ice!). It’s very unique….. The Spanish featured heavily in what I’ve been writing recently, which is why I’m showing you them today.


Now for your nightly excerpt, this one,
unlike ones I’ve shared before, feature Frtiz
and Drosselmeyer, and is set in Russia,
rather than in the Land of Sweets.

Drosselmeyer didn’t look up as Frizt walked into the room. “Godfather?” he said softly. “I didn’t see her. Should I start asking around.”

The man shook his head. “No, no you shouldn’t,” he replied. “Just…. go play with your torys.”

“What! But- but Godfather! My sister, where is she? I need to go and look for her. Please?”

“No,” he whispered. “You need to have a merry Christmas. That’s what she would want.”

“I think she would want to be here, with us, not freezing in the snow, but perhaps that’s just me,” Fritz grumbled darkly.

“Do you remember what I’ve told you about my travels?”

Fritz stopped in the door and turned back to face his Godfather. “What do you mean?” he asked.

Herr Drosselmeyer stared at his young godson mournfully, then looked away. “Would you still love me,” he asked softly, “if I said her disappearance was my fault?”

Fritz only stared at him, not moving closer. The aged Supreme Court Justice stared into the depths of the fire, crackling in the hearth. “I never told you everything, I told myself it wasn’t meant for the ears of a while. but I think I was only saying that to convince myself. If I had told you, when you were children, it would have been easier now. I could have warned you, prevented her from entering the Land of Sweets.”

“Land of Sweets?” Fritz’s hand rested on the door knob, prepared to open the door and step out into the hall, and then run for help, for someone who could bring a sense of sanity into his Godfather.

Nightly NaNo Update

One thought on “Nightly NaNo Update: Day 7

Leave a Reply

