Nightly NaNo Update: Day 8

NaNo Day 8I didn’t get much writing done today, I was actually knitting. I posted a new pattern to my Ravelry, (info here) and worked a bit on my Alice in Wonderland collection, and just did a bit of tinkering with the theme on my craft blog. But what writing I did get done turned out nicely, and I got a lot more done than I intended. As I said yesterday, I switched over to a new POV (Fritz and Drosselmeyer) and I’m having a blast! I really like Godfather Drosselmeyer, I always have, he’s such a crazy old man who always has an ace up his sleeve. Who’s your favorite character in the Nutcracker Ballet? Who’s your favorite in your story for NaNo?

Unfortunately, I’ve written myself into a bit of a plot hole. As we all know, Godfather Drosselmeyer gives Claire the Nutcracker, but I’ve written an entire subplot around the idea of him not intending on her finding her way into the Land of Sweets. Of course, it’s entirely possible he’s lying, but still…. Have you hit any rough spots like that? How do you escape them?


Nightly Excerpt:

Drosselmeyer settled down and watched his godson for a long while. “Do you believe in magic?” he asked.

“No.” It was an immediate response, one that brought a smile to Drosselmeyer’s face.

“Of course not, I’ve taught you well. Tell me, what do you think keeps our house running? What do you think keeps this old place clean and tidy?”

“Emily.”

“You think Emily does it all herself?” he asked with a wry smile. “She’s not quite that talented my dear boy.”

“Then who does it?”

Drosselmeyer smiled, a from within his coat he produced a small, silver whistle which he blew on softly. No noise came out. “Its broken!” cried Fritz.

“Of course not, it’s meant for someone who hears a bit differently than you or I is all.” Fritz turned his head sideways, confused. “Just wait and see,” Drosselmeyer promised. “You won’t regret it.”

Fritz wasn’t certain what he thought of that assuarance, but he stayed beside the elder man and waited. A moment later a small door, hidden cleverly in the wall molding, popped open and out stepped one of Godfather Drosselmeyer’s little clockwork men. Fritz gasped to see him strolling around, seemingly on his own.

He shook his head, unable to belive his eyes. “Godfather,” he asked softly, “What’s going on?”

“Hello old chap,” Godfather Drosselmeyer greeted, “What mess have you gotten into today, hmm?” As frtiz watched the doll turned its head toward Drosselmeyer, and held out its arm, the tiny hand of which had been twisted. “Did you shut it in a cupboard, again?”


The video clip of the evening is an adorable one of Claire and Fritz (the children in the front), I believe the man directing the children is Godfather Drosselmeyer.

Nightly NaNo UpdateNightly Questions:

  1. Who’s your favorite character in the Nutcracker Ballet?
  2. Who’s your favorite in your story for NaNo?
  3. Have you hit any rough spots?
  4. How do you escape your rough spots?
Leave a Reply

