The Farmerettes

The FarmerettesThe Farmerettes by Gisela Tobien Sherman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this book as a part of Goodreads First Reads.

I greatly enjoyed reading this book. I had never heard of the Farmerettes before, and actually was inspired by this to do additional research because I found them so interesting. Usually I don’t enjoy historical fiction (especially around WWII which I find overdone) but this was so different I sat and read it almost all the way through in a sitting (once I found time to read).

The characters were a very diverse and well written cast. At first I was confused by the constant head-hopping, switching POVs between the girls, and found it distracting (this was bad enough, for a while, to rate the four star review). However, once I got used to it, and began being able to differentiate between the girls, I found it much, much smoother and easier to understand.

The supporting characters were just as diverse and lovable (no spoilers, but the poetry book and the abandoned farm was my favorite side-story). Their stories complemented, not distracted from, the main story and added to the rich story world.

View all my reviews

Book Review

2 thoughts on “The Farmerettes

Leave a Reply

