The Force Awakens: Movie and Novelization

Star Wars: The Force AwakensStar Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There are spoilers in this review, which is longer and more detailed than the one I posted on Goodreads.

I’ve always loved the Star Wars novelizations, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith: Novelization is the one that stays with me the most vividly (and it served to introduce me to the wonders of Patricia C. Wrede). The best thing about the novelizations is how much extra life they bring to the stories. If it were filmed from the novel, it would be a much longer, more in-depth book (and who would complain about that?).

 

I first saw The Force Awakens the first day it opened, on Friday, December 18, then on the next Monday (the 21st) I went with two friends. A week later, on a Friday two weeks after my first viewing, I saw it again with my best friend. By the last viewing I had purchased the book on my Kindle (I bought it Christmas day). The movie was wonderful, and even more so in 3D. I think I enjoyed it more than any other Star Wars film I’ve ever seen because of the story and because having a strong, female protagonist made me so happy. (I’m still mad about the #WheresRey issue because there should be toys of the main character available). My main takeaway is that every time I watch or read it I find some other detail, something else that I want to debate and explore. Who is Rey? I’m partial to Rey Kenobi theories and the more prevalent Rey Skywalker one. There’s a fun theory about Rey actually being Anakin if thats your thing. In semi-related news, good-guy Kylo is a fun read. The Force Awakens is full of #GirlPower and mysteries, two of my favorite things.

I didn’t read much over the holiday (so no I didn’t finish this in one sitting) because I was busy, but I did really enjoy this while I was reading it. The characters are much better fleshed out than in the movie, there are more characters, and the details of how everything works is much more elaborated on. The deleted scenes, which I elaborate on farther down the post, are sadly missing from the movie (I didn’t think I needed deleted scenes, I was wrong).

My biggest issue is the fact that the author seemed to believe that the more big words they used the better. There were times, some of which I’ve noted below, that I only wanted to steal his thesaurus so I could just focus on reading and not continually define words (which is a problem I rarely have). At times this was enough to distract from the story itself, because of the sheer frustration I found with it.

 


 

01/01
77.0%
Yeah, Ren. Don’t show compassion. It might make you a good guy.

Snoke is less than pleased to allow Kylo (his apprentice?) any compassion or weakness, as he pointed out after Kylo is unable to get the secrets from Rey.

01/02
80.0%
Han: Theres something I’ve been wanting to tell you
Leia: Tell me when you get back
Me: THIS IS NOT OKAY”

On a list of deleted scenes that I could have done without, this comes first. Was there really any need to add angst to Han’s death by having him want to tell Leia something important as he’s leaving? Since she stopped him we may never know what he wanted to say (although there are rumors he’ll be in the next movie).

01/02
81.0%
If you were planning to read this, don’t it will shatter your heart into a million, gazillion pieces and you will never be the same again.

I feel as though this is rather self-explanatory throughout the whole book AND movie.

01/02
83.0%
“Slimy Sycophant Hux”? Someone please take away this man’s thesaurus.

This just goes to show that 1) somethings are better without a thesaurus, and 2) Kylo Ren and General Hux really hate each other.

01/05
88.0%
Kylo Ren in the Falcon should have been in the movie.

In the novelization Kylo and some storm troopers actually go and visit the Falcon where it crashed in the forests of StarKiller base, and he sits in the cockpit for a few moments.

01/05
89.0%
“Well have a party later…. I’ll bring the cake.” – Han Solo. The party should be after the credits, like at a Marvel movie.

Really though, after-credit party anyone?

01/05
92.0%
So Kylo Ren was on the Falcon and still doesn’t know that Han Solo is there? Is he an idiot?

This surprised me, after reading about Kylo being on the Falcon I didn’t see how he could have not expected to see Han Solo, you know, the owner of the Falcon? Its a pretty obvious ship, and you cannot convince me that Han didn’t take his son to his ship at some point or another, but Kylo Ren seems surprised to see Han in the scene immediately before his death.

01/05
94.0%
Poe stays for his friends.

This part was sickeningly sweet but also meaningless in the end. Poe refuses to return to the Resistance base (and his fighters agree to stay with him) until Rey and Finn are safe. This is a good, old literary device that you see quite often, but in this case it was worthless. Poe didn’t do anything? He refuses to leave, says he’s going to search for Rey, and then doesn’t show up again until after Chewie has rescued Rey and Finn.

01/05
95.0% “
It is you,” Ren murmured. WHAT DO YOU KNOW THAT WE DON’T

When Rey calls the lightsaber and it comes to her hand Kylo Ren remarks that “it is you” and seems shocked. So he knows Rey? How? Some people theorize that maybe Kylo Ren left Rey on Jakku.

01/05
96.0%
Hux has a Kylo tracker.

This made me laugh. Hux apparently has a tracker in Kylo Ren’s belt.


 

Fans everywhere cannot wait for the next movie and some have taken to twitter to ease the more than a yearlong wait through various parody accounts. Most famous (for good reason) is Emo Kylo Ren, but Bad Father Han Solo, Very Lonely Luke, and Kylo Trump are also worth your time.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

