Heart of Ice by K.M. Shea

Heart of Ice (The Snow Queen, #1)Heart of Ice by K.M. Shea

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This month’s read for The Book Crafters

This review contains no spoilers.

My ex-boyfriend passed away on January 11th, and the next time I saw my best friend – who understands me better than I do – she handed me an Amazon gift card and told me to buy myself a book that would make me feel better. I was careful and managed to buy three books, Heart of Ice, Da Vinci’s Tiger, and The Wild Orchid. I’ll spare you the rest of the tale, which I’ve already told (pretty much in full) on Setting up a Book Club.

This is the first self-published book I’ve ever bought on Amazon. I’ve ended up with a few because they were free, but this one was the first I’ve purchased and I’m glad that I chose one that was this good. Because it really, really was excellent.

I loved it.

It made me laugh several times when I was in such a bad mood that I thought nothing would make me laugh and I can’t wait for the next book to come out next month. (in the meanwhile, I might check out some of her other books.) I finished it on the way to Michael’s funeral, in fact, and it made me smile which I think he would have liked. One thing I have to say, is that Michael always supported me and my love of books. 

Rakel was a wonderful character, and someone that I could really get behind. There were some mysteries left unsolved – like who was sending Rakel books – and somethings I can’t wait to be further explored – her relationship with the character (especially her brother).

The Robber Maiden was another favorite. I hope she gets more development, and background, in the next book(s?). Oskar and Halvor were hilarious, my only complaint being that they seemed almost interchangeable, and if it weren’t for Rakel constantly referring to them by title – her attendant or her captain – I would have been pretty lost.

Of course, you can’t talk about a retelling of the Snow Queen without mentioning Disney’s Frozen, but I don’t know if this is comparable. It’s so different from the Disney version and I feel like both are really good in their own right and honestly I can’t pick a favorite. Oh, and if you thought I could get through this post without mentioning that I have a friend who does gorgeous cosplays you were wrong.

Overall a great read, and I can’t wait for the sequel. At least it’s coming out soon, and I don’t have too long to wait!

K.M. Shea is very active on her own social media, and if you liked the Snow Queen she’s posted several short stories on her blog (psst if you want more goodies leave more reviews!) and her twitter.

 

Links of Interest

Group Activity for the Book

Group Discussion Folder

K.M. Shea’s Website (a wordpress blog!)

All My Reviews

7 thoughts on “Heart of Ice by K.M. Shea

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. In times like this it is hard to think of something to say because I know it must be painful and difficult, but I hope you find other books that make you laugh and smile and help you through this hard time. I’m honored Heart of Ice was able to lighten your mood.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

