Classic Books and Me

This was created by itsabookworld.

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like:

1984 by George Orwell. Keep in mind I read this in 9th grade for school and there was too much sex for my liking (and discussing it in class was…. bad). Also, Romeo and Juliet (which was also read in ninth grade (I loved that teacher, but I hated everything we read in that class)).

2. Favorite time period to read about:

Victorian. I also really love Queen Victoria herself, but I do have a definite weakness for the Elizabethan era.

3. Favorite fairy-tale:

The Twelve Dancing Princesses. This is definitely Barbie’s fault. I’ve read all the retellings ever.

4. What is the most embarrassed classic you haven’t read yet:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. As much as I love Wonderland retellings, I haven’t had time to get to the original yet (and I also haven’t found it to buy yet).

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):

  1. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as mentioned above.
  2. Pride and Prejudice
  3. Animal Farm. It’s supposed to be good, and it always makes the ‘books to read in your lifetime’ lists.
  4. The Chronicles of Narnia. I tried as a child and I just couldn’t!
  5. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn was my grandmother’s favorite book.

6. Favorite modern book/series based on a classic:

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. I will always argue that without Gail Carson Levine and Ella Enchanted we wouldn’t have the fairytale retelling craze that we are living in today.

7. Favorite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:

Sherlock on BBC.

 

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation: 

The most recent Count of Monte Cristo movie. It was absolutely not the book and they pronounced Mercedes wrong.

9. Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

The Barnes and Noble leather-bound classics. So far I only have one, but I really want Alice in Wonderland in this collection, and maybe Jane Austen.

10. An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

The Count of Monte Cristo. Arguably one of the first classics I’ve ever read, this was first introduced to me in eighth grade by my language arts teacher.

2 thoughts on “Classic Books and Me

Leave a Reply

