The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Thats for the tag Michelle!

How long have you been a blogger?

If you count tumblr, a few years, if you just count this blog, then I started it just before NaNoWriMo last year.

At what point do you think you will stop?

I hope never! I love blogging! I find it very relaxing, however I have this odd quirk of going mad and over doing a hobby for a while, then forgetting it, then becoming obsessed with it again. But I’m trying to beat that habit through this blog.

Time is also a factor though, I’ll have some time between now and May (when I graduate High School (87 days left!) and plenty of time over the summer, but I’m starting college in the fall so we’ll have to see how my time works out after that.

What is the best thing?

The community. I love interacting with people and finding people who have written/read the same things as me.

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

I don’t know that I could think of a ‘worse thing.’ Perhaps I’ll go with the assumption that everyone should read the same books. A lot of the popular book blogs and bookstagram accounts are virtually the same, all reading the same books and posting similar pictures.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

I create most of my pictures. The instagram photos I take myself (info here) and I use a lot of them as headers for my blog. Other pictures such as ones with quotes and captains are made using picmonkey, pixlr, and canva.

Who’s your book crush?

Huh. I dunno really, I don’t usually get crushed on book characters. When I was younger I really loved Legolas from the Lord of the Rings, and to this day I love Lupin from the Harry Potter Series. More recently Morpheus from Splintered.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Gail Carson Levine is my very favorite author. I’d die of utter joy to be able to interview her.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Whatever I happen to be wearing at the time. Something comfortable. Usually jeans and a t-shirt. If I didn’t have to leave the house usually I wear sweatpants or pajama bottoms. Today I have boots, jeans, and a Star Wars jersey shirt.

How long does it take you to prepare?

The posts? It depends on what I’m writing. For my book reviews  I take longer than it seems, because I make a lot of notes while I’m reading and/or before I read. For example, even though I’ve only finished The Philosopher’s Stone I have the rest of the Harry Potter book reviews drafted with notes on things I want to mention.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I think it’s great! Everyone seems very nice and supportive, but I have to agree a least a little with thesapphire (aka Michelle who tagged me) that there is a bit of competition, particularly on Instagram. The best thing about book blogging over bookstagram is that you get less ‘spam’ such as comments where people ask you to follow them and comment things about how you LOOK rather than the book you’re trying to discuss. Don’t get me wrong I appreciate any kind of compliment, but I wish there was more book discussion on Instagram.

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

What is successful anyway?

If you mean to have a lot of followers: Read books, read reviews, and write, write, write. Get a look at what others are doing and draw inspiration from them (but don’t copy and paste their stuff thats RUDE and possibly ILLEGAL).

If you want to have fun: Read what you love and write whatever makes you happy.

Success: My idea of success would be to have a few followers who regularly comment on my posts and discuss the books with me, and to be able to write and read what makes me happy.

Who do you tag?

Samatha from DreamByDayBookReviews

Sophie from StoriesforSophie

Jade from Scatterbooker

Anyone who wants to do this! If you do it please, let me know in the comments!

 

5 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. Glad you did the tag! 😍 I think it’s needless to say that I agree with practically everything you said? Even the book crush (Lupin hehe). Oh and I especially agree with your ‘worst thing’. That is so true that many (including myself) get sucked into this subconsciously. It’s great that you pointed that out 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😊 I’m so glad you tagged me! This was so much fun!
      Lupin is the best person ever. Before realizing that he represents HIV/AIDS I told my mom I wanted to be Lupin when I grew up (then I realized that would suck). So instead I try to live a life he would be proud of.
      I’ve also got sucked into it a little, but I also try to avoid being just like everyone else.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

