Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find ThemFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Author: J.K. Rowling
Series: Harry Potter
Purchase: Book Depository

A copy of Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them resides in almost every wizarding household in the country. Now Muggles too have the chance to discover where the Quintaped lives, what the Puffskein eats and why it is best not to leave milk out for a Knarl.

Proceeds from the sale of this book will go to Comic Relief, which means that the pounds and Galleons you exchange for it will do magic beyond the powers of any wizard. If you feel that this is insufficient reason to part with your money, I can only hope that passing wizards feel more charitable if they see you being attacked by a Manticore.

– Albus Dumbledore

The book is, to snag a word from the title ‘fantastic.’ The premise itself is a bit riddikulus, I have a hard time believing that Wizards would let Muggles in on their secrets just to help Comic Relief, but you have to remember that this book is geared for children (who are far more gullible than I) and it is a cute idea (and convincing an unwilling Harry to let his notes be published is a funny thought).

Its a fun short read, I can’t say I particularly enjoyed or didn’t enjoy it. The text itself was a bit dull, but the comments from Harry, Ron, and Hermione certainly made up for it. Yes it was full of interesting creatures, but it really is a mini-encyclopedia of magical creatures and as someone who knows a lot about magical creatures it really wasn’t anything new (and I’ve read it before). I might have rated it higher the first time I read it, but now (even though its been a while) I just wasn’t a fan.

Does anyone know any more than me about the reference to Snape and a Kappa? Because that’s something I would be very interested in learning more about. Google doesn’t turn up anything, but I would love to know more.

I generally like my reviews to be longer, but there’s not much to say about this book. I did like it, if you’ve not read it you should. It’s definitely geared for kids, and I have to confess to being impressed that J.K. took a break from writing the main series to write for charity. Hats off to her.

The Werewolf Registry

“[he was] almost solely responsible for the creation of the Werewolf Registry in 1947.” (page vi).

So as far as I can tell the Registry is almost completely worthless. Fenrir Greyback was not on the registry – which led to him being released from Ministry Custody and able to bite Remus Lupin in retaliation for what his father had said – and neither was Lupin himself after being bitten (at age five). I couldn’t even find any information about what the Registry was meant to do, other than keeping a list of werewolves. Now how we interpret that changes how we view Newt Salamander himself.

We can either say that he made it in order to help protect others from becoming werewolves and for watching out for dangerous ones like Greyback. If thats the case then hopefully its only accessible to the Ministry and those who are supposed to be watching out for Werewolves. The unfortunate thing is if its used to target werewolves, where anyone could see it including neighbors and potential employers.

What do you think of the Registry? Do you have any more information? How do you think it’s run?

Hopes for the Movie

I hope there’s some kind of, little jabs/inside jokes for those of us who have read the book. And maybe some more information on why he would create the Werewolf Registry and how it worked. But most of all I’m hoping that his implementation of the Ban on Experimental breeding is involved. Maybe he experimented with something and that’s what escapes his trunk.

What are you hoping to see in the movie?

Reading Progress

  • marked as: currently-reading
  • Prologue
    • “It seems Harry isn’t fond of the Chudley Cannons.”
    • “I’m going to have to look up the werewolf register before I decide if I like this Newt guy or not. Mess with Lupin and you mess with me.”
    • “Newt seems distinctly unhappy that people write in his books.”
  • page 23 35.0% “I still want to know about Snape and the Kappa”
  • page 34 53.0% “Poor Puffskein….”
  • page 34 53.0% “So the Golden Snitch is named for a bird they used to use for the game. Then they started dying out.”

If you liked this book you can buy it on Book Depository.

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Leave a Reply

