February Book Photo Challenge

Feb. 1st Followers: 160

Feb. 1st Following: 1,105

Feb. 29 Followers: 376

Feb. 29th Following: 599

So this month I decided to do two (and later three) challenges at once to challenge myself – to see if I could find a book that fit both challenges. As I was typing this up – before the month started – I quickly realized it wasn’t going to be as hard as I was expecting, because they got kind of monotonous. Some of them are almost identical in fact, and not just day 1 and day 29.

I should note that the challenge I refer to as “Celine Reads” should be referred to as “Celine and Seth” because there are two people involved. I realized this too late and didn’t want to go back and fix all of it.


 

Partway through the month I found myself another challenge to hop onto, this one is almost entirely Harry Potter based, and since my HP posts are by far my most popular (in terms of likes, comments, and new followers), I thought “why not”?

Last quick reminder 😉 . .🎉February is here so its time for my new book challenge : #amagicalbookchallenge 🎉 . Who wants to join me ? 💛⚡💛 . ⚡Who like magical worlds ? Harry Potter, Lord of the rings, The Shadowhunters, Carry On, and obviously so much more !!!!!🌟 .📖 Who is looking for a book challenge to do in February?? If you answered yes to both these questions, LOOK NO MORE because I created a magical book challenge 😊 .. .. .. Don't be fooled, it's not an exclusive Potterhead challenge : the theme is "magic" so you can pick your inspirations wherever you like as long as it's magical 🌟🌟🌟🌟 . ..Sorry for the bad editing, its a bit messy as it's my first time doing it digitally 😉 I hope it's still easy to read ? .. Use the #amagicalbookchallenge so we can all meet new bookstagrammer through this book challenge ☺ .. . And don't hesitate to share this post with your friends even if you're not sure you'll have time to do it 💙 (no pressure, you can do whenever you can if you are nervous about keeping up on a daily basis there's no obligation😉) .. .. (Just to be sure it's clear : the "fav" stands for "favorite" & "HP" for Harry Potter 😁)

A post shared by Maëva (@readinginhongkong) on

So here’s the post by the creator, I didn’t start it until the ninth of the month, so I skipped the first eight days on instagram, but I’ll answer them here for fun.


 

Day One:

  • Celine Reads: February TBR
    • Da Vinci’s Tiger
  • Books and Cupcakes: February TBR
    • Da Vinci’s Tiger
    • This was a hard photo to take, because of using an iPad to take the photo. If you look closely on the screen you can actually see my hands and camera. At least you can’t see my hair, because it looked awful that day.
  • Magical (not pictured): Fave HP Book
    • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Day Two:

  • Celine Reads: Pink
    • Marie Antoinette: Serial Killer
  • Books and Cupcakes: YA
    • Marie Antoinette: Serial Killer
    • This is the closest I have to a pink, YA book. I have a few other pink books, but they’re non-fiction (some college guides for girls). I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds interesting. On a semi-related note I once cosplayed Marie Antoinette (info here).
  • Magical (not pictured): Fav Spell
    • Accio. I would never have to move from my chair to get a book
    • Lumos: Reading in bed? Check.

Day Three:

  • Celine Reads: Books you want to re-read
    • The Lord of the Rings
    • This is extra perfect, because what better to talk about on your birthday than your favorite series, right? As I’m certain you can tell from the contents of the photo, I have a lot of LOTR action figures and stuff.
  • Books and Cupcakes: Love Triangle
    • Aragorn/Arwen/Eowyn
  • Magical (not pictured): Great Book, Bad Movie
    • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    • They took out all the details – including Dobby! – and only left the sports. No thanks!

Day Four:

  • Celine Reads: Book Boyfriend/Girlfriend
    • I love Rey so much. And Poe, he’s perfect too. Finn’s okay. I hope he gets better development in the next movie.
  • Books and Cupcakes: Couldn’t put it down
    • Before the Awakening
  • Magical (not pictured): Fav Mother
    • Molly
    • She makes me think of my grandmother

Day Five:

  • Celine Reads: Currently Reading
    • The Wrath and the Dawn
    • I could also say this book made me smile, it certainly was very good, but I also wanted to hate it because, well, it ended (and the sequel isn’t due until May).
  • Books and Cupcakes: Makes Me Smile
    • My new bookends!
  • Magical (not pictured): Magical Bookmarks

 

Day Six:

  • Celine Reads: Fave Romance
    • Buzz Kill
  • Books and Cupcakes: Rom Com
    • Buzz Kill
  • Magical (not pictured): Fav Actor in LOTR
    • Ian McKellan or Christopher Lee

I had read posts where people claimed to take all their photos on their phones rather than my cumbersome ritual of moving things from camera to computer to phone and I hadn’t understood how or why they did that because I could never get good photos on my Samsung Galaxy SIII. Well my grandfather bought me an iPhone 6s for my birthday and now I get it.

Day Seven:

  • Celine Reads: Over 600
    • Seraphina
  • Books and Cupcakes: Female Author
    • Rachael Hartman
  • Magical (not pictured): A Wise Witch
    • Professor McGonagil

February 8th #bookphotochallenge. #celineandsethfebruary16 is "books that broke your heart" and #booksandcupcakes is "finished in one day." So clearly the only answer is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and yes this is the very copy I picked up at the release party at midnight. My then BFF of course, opened the book and flipped straight to the back, but I refused to let her spoil it for me and since she didn't read the rest of the book I had to summarize it for her once I had finished. #harrypotter #harrypotterandthedeathlyhallows #thedeathlyhallows #timeturner #ravenclaw #ravenclawscarf #harrypotterfilmwizardry #filmwizardry #harrypotterpagetoscreen #pagetoscreen #bookstagram #booklr #instabook #books #bookstagrammer #celineandsethfebruary2016

A post shared by Camryn Daytona (@thewritingcrafter) on

Day Eight:

  • Celine Reads: Books that Broke your heart
    • The Deathly Hallows
  • Books and Cupcakes: finished in a day
    • The Deathly Hallows
  • Magical (not pictured): A Crazy Wizard
    • Radaghast the Brown

Day Nine:

  • Celine Reads: Red books
    • The Shaping of Middle Earth 
    • Fire Star
    • Book of a Thousand Days
    • To Hold the Crown
    • A Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
    • We Hear the Dead
    • Splendors and Glooms
    • Book of Sith
    • Dragonology Handbook
    • Dragonology Chronicles
    • Steel Scars
  • Books and Cupcakes: Published this year
    • Steel Scars
  • Magical: Fav Hogwarts Ghost
    • Helena Ravenclaw

Day Ten:

  • Celine Reads: Fav OTP
    • Aulë/Yavanna
  • Books and Cupcakes: Old Fav
    • The Silmarillion
  • Magical: Fav Subject at Hogwarts
    • Divination

Day Eleven:

  • Celine Reads: Happy
    • I collect dolls, they make me very happy.
  • Books and Cupcakes: Swoon-worthy
    • Splendors and Glooms
  • Magical: Book and Art
    • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix with pages from the Harry Potter Coloring Book.

Day Twelve:

  • Celine Reads: Cute cover
    • Untamed
    • This is my favorite picture yet. It’s just so awesome and full of life! Yes I did make the Cheshire Cat Tail, you can find more info here. My only regret is that the chess pieces are laid out in a 90 degree angle. I wish there was more randomness to it.
  • Books and Cupcakes: Fictional BF/GF
    • Morpheus
  • Magical: Fav HP Movie
    • Harry Potter the Prisoner of Azkaban. I love Remus Lupin and this is the movie in which he gets the most screen time.

 

Day Thirteen:

  • Celine Reads: Books and Flowers
    • Entwined
  • Books and Cupcakes: Books and Makeup
  • Magical: Fav Witch
    • Luna Lovegood

 

Day Fourteen:

  • Celine Reads: Fav so far this year
    • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • Books and Cupcakes: Romantic Read
    • The Wrath and the Dawn
    • This got a lot more recognition than I was expecting. It was my first post to hit at least 80 likes. I personally thought it was rather simple, the flowers I made myself out of an old copy of The Fellowship of the Ring that was falling apart. I suppose sometimes simplicity is best.
  • Magical: Quote from a Wizard
    • “The ones we love never really leave us. You can always find them. In here.”

Day Fifteen: Gail Carson Levine

  • Celine Reads: Fav author
    • Gail Carson Levine
  • Books and Cupcakes: Artistic Cover
    • A Tale of Two Castles and Forgive Me, I meant to Do it
  • Magical: Books that made you dream
    • Dinoptopia
      • Did anyone else have a mini-crisis when you realized that the villain (in the live-action movie) is played by none other than Remus Lupin?
    • Fablehaven
    • Harry Potter
    • Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow
    • Dragonology
    • The Hobbit
      • Most influential book of my childhood? Likely.

Day Sixteen:

  • Celine Reads: Cliche
    • The Princess Bride
    • The thing about calling The Princess Bride cliche, is that it was made to be cliche. (Does that make it more cliche?)
  • Books and Cupcakes: Sexy and steamy
    • The Princess Bride
  • Magical: Books are Magical, tell me why you love books

Day Seventeen:

  • Celine Reads: Romantic Cover
    • Siren
  • Books and Cupcakes: Standalone
    • Siren
  • Magical: Scariest Wizard
    • Gandalf

Day Eighteen:

  • Celine Reads: Book in fav color
  • Books and Cupcakes: Classic
  • Magical: Fav Actor from HP

Day Nineteen:

  • Celine Reads: Fave book spine
  • Books and Cupcakes: Currently reading
  • Magical: Magical Merch

Day Twenty: LOTR and HP with maps

  • Celine Reads: Book and Bookmarks
  • Books and Cupcakes: falling in love
    • I am falling in love with my bookmarks to be honest.
    • And Ginny and Harry falling in love is just so sweet. And Ron and Hermione.
  • Magical: Book and Map

Day Twenty-One:

  • Celine Reads: Fav quote
    • “In a hole in the ground there lived a Hobbit.”
  • Books and Cupcakes: pink cover
    • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • Magical: Fav Magical World
    • Middle Earth

Day Twenty-Two:

  • Celine Reads: Fav series
    • Ugh. This is hard. I have to go with Harry Potter.
  • Books and Cupcakes: I like big books
    • Lord of the Rings
  • Magical: Quote from a Witch
    • Hermione shirt

I couldn’t manage to take this picture without my boobs looking huge.

Day Twenty-Three:

  • Celine Reads: White books
  • Books and Cupcakes: LGBTQ
    • Carry On
  • Magical: Fav Weasley
    • Ron

Day Twenty-Four:

  • Celine Reads: Long Title
    • All the Harry Potter books
  • Books and Cupcakes: Heartbreaking
    • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  • Magical: Scary Witch
    • Bellatrix Lestrange

Day Twenty-Five:

  • Celine Reads: Creative Title
    • Fantastic Creatures and Where to Find Them
    • The title always makes me laugh, and I cannot wait for the movie to come out.
  • Books and Cupcakes: Love This Book
    • Fantastic Creatures and Where to Find Them
  • Magical: Fav Fantastic Creature
    • Dragon

Day Twenty-Six:

  • Celine Reads: Book Under 200 Pages
    • The Philospher’s Stone
    • The Hobbit
  • Books and Cupcakes: Banned Book
    • Literally all of Harry Potter and all of Tolkien’s Works.
  • Magical: Fav Teacher at Hogwarts
    • McGonagall

Day Twenty-Seven:

  • Celine Reads: Fav Font
    • I think we all recognize the Harry Potter font by now?
  • Books and Cupcakes: Time Travel
    • The Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Magical: Fav Wizard/Magical Couple
    • Lupin and Tonks
    • Literally two of my favorite characters hooked up, how can I not love it?!

Day Twenty-Eight:

  • Celine Reads: Feb Book Haul (All the books I bought this month)
    • The Looking Glass Wars
    • Salt to the Sea (not pictured)
    • Cinder
    • Fanny and Dice
    • The Selection (not pictured)
    • Da Vinci’s Tiger
    • Scarlet
    • Fire
    • Sea of Shadows
  • Books and Cupcakes: Freebie
  • Magical: Fav Magical Object

Day 29 of February's #bookphotochallenge — #celineandsethfebruary16 is 'wrap up' and #booksandcupcakes is 'read this month.' Not pictured is Salt to the Sea, The Wrath and the Dawn, and Carry On. It's been a good month. — #amagicalbookchallenge is 'fav wand' and I have to say Luna's Blog & Youtube notices: I've just posted my wrap up for the photo challenges, over the next few days I'll be getting up my Feb Book Haul and Read this Month. #harrypotter #harrypotterbooks #harrypotterandtheprisonerofazkaban #harrypotterandthechamberofsecrets #harrypotterandthephilosophersstone #fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem #thelookingglasswars #davincistiger #thelostqueen #thefaeriepath #carryon #salttothesea #thewrathandthedawn #biblophile #booklove #booklr #instabook #bookstagram

A post shared by Camryn Daytona (@thewritingcrafter) on

Day Twenty-Nine:

  • Celine Reads: Wrap up (A photo of all the book you read throughout the month of February)
  • Books and Cupcakes: Read this month
    • Finished
      • Da Vinci’s Tiger (review)
      • Salt to the Sea (review)
      • The Wrath and the Dawn (review)
      • The Faerie Path
      • The Lost Queen
      • Carry On (review)
      • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (review)
      • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (review)
      • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (review)
    • Still Reading
      • Untamed
      • The Looking Glass Wars
  • Magical: Fav Wand
    • Luna
Leave a Reply

