Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For Fairytales!

Top Ten Tuesday is an event held weekly by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s theme is Ten Books to Read if You’re in the Mood for ____ and I chose Fairy Tales! I’m not doing exactly ten, because I’m suggesting authors and series rather than just books.


Series

Once Upon a Time Series by Cameron Dokey

Cameron Dokey has literally dozens of books and her Once Upon a Time Series are classic!

The Splintered Series by A.G. Howard

A very gothic Alice in Wonderland by an amazing author that I cannot get enough of. The details haven’t been released yet, but her next book involves The Phantom of the Opera.

The Wide Awake Princess by E.D. Baker

A very good and hilarious story by the woman who wrote Tales of the Frog Princess which went on to inspire Disney’s the Princess and the Frog!

Timeless Fairytales & The Snow Queen by K.M. Shea

I can only personally vouch for The Snow Queen, but I’ve seen excellent reviews for all of the Timeless Fairytales.

Authors

Gail Carson Levine

I swear I sing her praises almost constantly, but let me tell you the woman DESERVES IT! She’s one of the best out there and in my opinion kick-started the fairytale retelling genre.

Jessica Day George

This woman is barely below Gail Carson Levine in terms of amazing authoresses. All her books are great, but The Princesses of Westfalin Trilogy is my favorite because it combines The Twelve Dancing Princesses, Cinderella, and Little Red Riding Hood.

Books

Entwined by Heather Dixon

A great Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling.

A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce

2 thoughts on “Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For Fairytales!

Leave a Reply

