The Elite

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Elite by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 323

Just as before, I still like this story more than I thought I would. Perhaps some of that comes from the fact that its a nice break – something short and sweet – from the long books I have been reading recently. I don’t think its very hard to guess the ending – however, if the rest of the series wasn’t already out it might be – and I don’t find myself at the edge of my seat wondering whats going to happen. Rather, I find myself wondering how we’re going to get there. So while the end result is pretty easy to guess I’m here to figure out how to arrive at that point.

There wasn’t as much actual Selecting going on in this book, as everyone who remained was there for a reason and they weren’t getting rid of several at a time like they had been. There was a lot more competition and that means a lot more nastiness from Celeste (and Maxon finally grows eyes and realizes that America isn’t the only one there). I really enjoyed reading it though, and I did actually finish it in a day (a few hours actually, I couldn’t put it down). As I said in my review of The Selection, the shorter, simpler style of Kiera Cass’ books is a nice change from the heavy books I have been working through.

Characters

America 

As before I am still deeply frustrated by America’s stupidity when it comes to her family. If she wants wants what’s best for them she should marry Maxon, and to be completely honest Aspen is starting to creep me out. You would think that after what happened to Marlee she would wizen up, but apparently not. She’s starting to be a bit more realistic about what marrying Maxon really means.

Does anyone else feel as though her father is up to something? Because I do.

Maxon

Maxon seems to be making okay choices? The book is narrated from America’s POV, so we get a very slanted view of him that changes depending on how she’s currently feeling about him.

Aspen

As I mentioned earlier I have a sinking feeling about Aspen. The creep-o-meter is high with this one. He certainly doesn’t seem to care that Very Bad Things could happen if he and America get caught (or he’s that determined that he will succeed and I hate cocky people).

The Rebels

Spoilers here: but who figured out ages ago that the rebels were after books? At least the Northern ones. For a while I thought America’s father might be connected to the rebels, but now I’m not so sure.

The King

By the end I was very much prepared to kill the king.

6 thoughts on “The Elite

Leave a Reply

