International Women’s Day

Today is International Women’s Day, a part of Women’s History Month. Today I’m kicking off a challenge for all of you, to post about your favorite fictional and real women. What women in fiction inspire you most of all? Post about them today, or some other day in March and include a note about the importance of Women’s History.

Mine are in alphabetical order, but you can do them however you’d like.

The Photo: The picture I used as my featured image was taken two years ago at the Magic Kingdom at Disney World on Main Street USA. I remember almost crying when I saw that there was a suffragette walking around Main Street, and dragging my mom over for a photo op. I could tell the actress was perfect for her job

Queen Elizabeth I

My favorite Monarch of England ever since reading Beware, Princess Elizabeth by Carolyn Meyer.

Ella

The star of Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine is the incredibly strong and brave Ella who proves that just because you get the prince doesn’t mean you need him.

Hermione 

Clearly a favorite of many people in my generation, Hermione from Harry Potter by JK Rowling is the best.

Mulan

I can count Mulan because there are so many books about her and she’s possibly a real woman (her story comes from an ancient Chinese tale). Wild Orchid by Cameron Dokey (a great author) is a Mulan retelling that’s on my TBR page.

Nancy Drew

The world’s best teenage detective and the star of one of the longest series of all time, Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene.

Shahrzad

The main character of Arabian Nights, I was introduced to Shazi in The Wrath and the Dawn by a retelling Renee Ahdieh.

Sondok

A real life Korean princess that I was introduced to in the Royal Diaries book Princess of the Moon and Stars by Sheri Holman.

Velma

My childhood hero from Scooby-Doo.

4 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

