The One

The One (The Selection, #3)The One by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Dystopian, Romance

This review contains spoilers.

The Characters section has spoilers for The One, but the main body only has spoilers for The Selection and The Elite.

This was a really good book, and I think you could pretty happily set down the series after reading this. Am I going to? No. I have every intention of reading The Heir and The Crown, and possibly some of the short stories as well. The whole series is far better than I expected, given that I have never watched The Batchelor and find The Hunger Games to be a bit overrated.

Overall the series is good while predictable. I was always able to tell what would be happening in the end, even if I couldn’t always tell how the main characters would get to that point. I won’t spoil anything here, but the end is to DIE for. If you have read it let me know what you thought of who America chooses, if not don’t look at the comments unless you want that spoiled.

Characters

There are spoilers in this section.
You have been warned.

America

By this book I really saw why so many people didn’t like her. She does nothing but mope about how hard her life in, interspersed with random acts of bravery.

Marlee

I’ve loved her for the whole series, and I’m glad that she finally got what she deserved all along. I hope she makes an appearance in The Heir.

Aspen

After all this, I still don’t like him. Call it a gut instinct I suppose.

Maxon

He’s a bit of an idiot and I got so mad at him when he wouldn’t trust America at the end. After all that they went through he wouldn’t even let her explain herself? Jerk. But I suppose it worked out in the end.

America’s Father

I was right about him all along!

It was kind of a giveaway in the second book where America tells us he’s not a rebel. If she hadn’t said that, I might never have suspected it. Add that to how interested he was in the

Celeste

Celeste annoyed me so much through the first two books but I was so glad to see her finally, FINALLY get some better publicity. She really could be nice…. ish. But then, you know, the dying happened and I was kind of heart broken.

Reading Progress and Updates

  • 03/05
    • marked as: currently-reading
    • page 36 9.0% “I think I was right about America’s dad.”
    • marked as: read
4 thoughts on “The One

  1. You are pretty much the only reason I picked up this series and I’m terrible with remembering these things so now I can officially say THANK YOU!!!

    I am SO mad about there being a love triangle in this book. It’s the first book where the love triangle truly annoys me. I am very excited to hear that you enjoyed the ending and I cannot wait until I get there too!

    (Ps.. Thanks for saying there are spoilers 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AWWWWWW! You are so kind for saying that, it means a lot to me right now and I am always happy when people read books at my suggestion.
      It was so good even without the love triangle, and I think its the triangle that annoyed me most of all.
      (I always try to warn about spoilers, its just the nice thing to do.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

