Ten Books On My Spring TBR

March 15 from The Broke and the Bookish. I’m trying to find things that weren’t included on my March TBR post, so that’s why some of these are a little odd.


 

The Queen’s Choice by Cayla Kluver

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equaled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen’s mantle herself. Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home.

I started this book a few months ago and I didn’t get the chance to finish it. The premise and the world-building is incredible though, so I can’t wait to give it another chance.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady.

I have heard so many good things about Diana Wynne Jones and Howl’s Moving Castle most of all! I’ve been told that the anime is worth seeing once I’ve finished the book.

Fire by Kristen Cashore

It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. In King City, the young King Nash is clinging to the throne, while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. War is coming.

I’ve had my eye on the Graceling Realm series for years and I finally bought Fire, the first book. I hope it was well-worth the wait.

The Princess in the Opal Mask by Jenny Lundquist

Orphaned as a child in the crumbling village of Tulan, Elara is determined to learn her true identity, even if it means wielding a dagger. Meanwhile, in Galandria’s royal capital, Princess Wilha stands out as someone to either worship or fear. Though no one knows why the king has always made her conceal her face-including Wilha herself.

This was a bit of a cover buy several years ago, although I must admit the premise is something spectacular. I was sorting my shelves, deciding what to get rid of, and decided that this should be read soon or go.

Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead.

My best friend bought me this as a late birthday present and bribe to go and see Deadpool with her.

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

How much is your life worth? In the territory of Ixia the government maintains control through the Code of Behaviour, forbidding the practice of magic, but danger lurks in mysterious places…Imprisoned for murder Yelena Zaltana’s punishment is death, until she is reprieved – for a price. As the Commander of Ixia’s food taster she will risk assassination from poison daily, a position she would be a fool to refuse.

ABookUtopia on youtube referenced this book and it sounds so good that I immediately went to the library and reserved it!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Everyone’s talking about it so I really feel the need to give it a try.

The Storyteller’s Daughter by Cameron Dokey

In a faraway kingdom, a king has been betrayed. Deeply hurt and bitterly angry, he vows never to be deceived again. Unfortunately, the king’s plan to protect himself will endanger all of the realm’s young women, unless one of them will volunteer to marry the king — and surrender her life.

I love Cameron Dokey and I loved The Wrath and the Dawn, so I’m sure I’ll love this retelling of Arabian Nights.

Bound by Donna Jo Napoli

Bound to a life of servitude as a young girl in ancient China, where a woman is valued less than livestock. Bound to be alone, with no parents to arrange for a suitable husband. Xing Xing spends her days taking care of her half sister, Wei Ping, who cannot walk because of her foot bindings, the painful tradition for girls who are fit to be married.

What hasn’t Donna Jo Napoli written? Perhaps her best known work is Daughter of Venice, which I once lent to my AP European History teacher and she loved it! So I’m sure this Cinderella-esque story will hold up.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair Tiger Lily. When fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan deep in the forbidden woods of Neverland, the two form a bond that’s impossible to break, but also impossible to hold on to.

I love Peter Pan and all the retellings, but I hope this will be a nice break and a way to see things a bit differently.

9 thoughts on “Ten Books On My Spring TBR

  1. I’ve read the whole Study series by Maria Snyder and I enjoyed all of them. She has others in the same universe, but Poison Study is probably the best starting point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

