“The best people all have some kind of scar.”

I was having a pretty rough time of it today, I’m not gonna lie. So when I was reading about scar care and all the things people do because they’re paranoid of letting the public see their scars I got just a little fed up and snapped this photo which I posted to Instagram along with a quote from The One by Kiera Cass.

“Don’t worry. The best people all have some kind of scar.” I thought of Marlee’s hands and Maxon’s back. They both held permanent marks of their bravery. I was honored to join them.”

 

I then cross posted the photo to my twitter because I thought some of my friends would like to know how I was doing and would like to see my scar. I posted it to twitter and tagged the author just for fun. I wasn’t expecting anything to come of it and then I went and laid down to play Pokemon. I ended up napping instead.

I returned to my twitter some time later to discover that it was blowing up with notifications. Confused I tried to figure out how my friend had left that many likes and retweets already. And why were they retweeting something? (Remember that I’m on rather strong medication at the time and was quite dazed)

Then I realized which post I was getting attention from. Oh surely not, I thought. But it was. She hadn’t just replied to it (which she did, adding ‘Thanks for sharing’), she had also retweeted it saying that she loved it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 3.28.15 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 3.43.18 PM.png

I hope I’m not reading into this too much, and I hope that Mrs. Cass wouldn’t mind my taking her response as her support of my belief, that even with scars I can be beautiful and loved. I hope she doesn’t mind when I tell people how much this helped with with accepting that I’ll still have a scar when compete in a skate show at the end of this month or when I go to Senior Prom or graduate. Chances are my scar will still be there through all of these events and my big senior trip to Disney with my best friend.

This is an important thing for me to remember as I move forward. Just a few hours after the kindness I got from twitter, I went to dinner with my mother and a few of her friends at Cracker Barrel and wanted to go home almost immediately. No one was overly rude, but I did get stared at. My waiter – who was very nice otherwise – never once looked me in the face. All of this and no one asked why I have this grotesque mark. If you’re going to stare, you might as well ask. It won’t hurt my feelings at all.

But I’m not going to let it hold me back. I’m not going to allow myself to look back and say ‘I wish I didn’t have the surgery before all these big events’ because having this scar makes me stronger. Because Kierra Cass loved it ‘so, so much’ and many of her fans retweeted it and liked it because they too agree with what I’m saying. The best people all have some kind of scar.

Thank you Kiera Cass. Thank you twitter-verse.


 

Tweet Updates

In July of 2016 the total impressions for my tweet was 1762 and the total for her reply “thanks for sharing” was 132.

Health Updates

I’m a bit stiff and sore, but nothing I can’t handle. I’ve also been sleeping a lot but thats normal when you’re on hydrocodone. I feel better everyday and I have been getting out of the house some.

 

4 thoughts on ““The best people all have some kind of scar.”

  1. Fair play to you! I have a giant scar on my back from three back operations that I had before I was the tender age of 21! I don’t show it off but the people I’m close to know and have seen it and Think I’m brave. But my husband he loves it and likes to rub it when he knows I’m having a bad day! It makes me love him more and more each day! Scars fade but memories stays strong just don’t let them take over your life, because doll, life is short and worth living everyday!
    Anyway hope this wasn’t an over share 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not over sharing at all! Thank you very much!! I was just reading and stumbled across the quote and it just connected with me, you know what I mean? And I posted it to Twitter so my friends could see that I was afraid (and because some of them had been asking what it looked like😜) and I was never expecting the support I received but I’m so glad to have gotten it! And thank you for your support. I hope your back is doing well, and whatever caused the surgery isn’t troubling you. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

