The Dim Sum Book Tag

Before I get to the tag, I’d like to apologize for my recent inactivity in terms of book reviews. Almost everything that has been posted from my post about my surgery until now is something that I drafted before I went into the hospital. I’ve also not been reading as much as I planned over spring break, because the medication that I was put on – and the fact that I went off my ADHD medication – made focus impossible. I’m starting to feel normal again and I’ve picked up a new book, The Kingdom of Little Wounds, which I’ll have a review of up soon. Until I get back in the swing of things most everything will continue to be things I wrote before surgery – I have almost 20 things scheduled even after all of last week!

Oh, and the Harry Potter Marathon that I planned? Only one person was able to come and I fell asleep halfway through the first movie. (I’ve been sleeping a lot) So it didn’t work as planned, but we’re going to try again over the summer. Some of my friends were visiting the Vatican and therefore couldn’t come.


 

Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

I was tagged by bookcomablog for the Dim Sum Book Tag. Thanks for tagging me! Man I love Chinese food. This is making me hungry!

RULES:

1/ Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
2/ Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
3/ Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
4/ Food coma


 

TEA: A book that started off hot but turns cold quickly:

The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Its an incredibly popular series so I went into it with high hopes….. but then ended up hating even the premise of it. Unfortunately I had such a bad experience with it – I read it for a middle school book club – that I haven’t been able to risk trying any of his other books.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

This is another one that I had high hopes for and I loved the first few chapters, but after that the plot slowed down and just seemed to stop.

CHIU CHOW DUMPLING: A book that features elements of land and sea.

I have no idea at the moment. I’m sure I’ve read one, but all I’ve done for the last week is play The Legend of Zelda which has themed temples, so can that be my answer?

RICE NOODLE ROLL: A favorite multi-layered character of yours: (Traits? Skills? Morally ambiguous?

The Cheshire Cat from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol

In honesty, I love any rendition of the Cheshire Cat and I think my favorite is from Disney’s recent Alice in Wonderland live action movie (and I can’t wait for the sequel!). He’s such an interesting character who simply does things because he wants to, not because its the right thing (or wrong thing) to do.

Now, the Cheshire Cat from The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor is a very different kind of cat and I love him!

SHRIMP DUMPLING: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away:

Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix

It just made no sense to me and all the ‘plot twists’ I had figured out well before the main character. All in all it was a very disappointing (and very loosely connected) follow up to Ella.

STEAMED BBQ PORK BUNS: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavor: (Message? Depth? Controversy?

The Body Farm Mysteries by Jefferson Bass.

On the outside their (its two authors) books are humorous murder mysteries, but when you start to think about it or read into it you realize that everything is based on real-life murders.

CHICKEN FEET: a book with divided opinions:

1984 by George Orwell

There are a lot of opinions within the book itself and within the people who have read it. The two opinions I’ve found from fellow book-lovers is that its either the best book ever written or the worst. I’m with the latter group, sorry (although that might have something to do with the fact that I was forced to read it for school).

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE: a book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged:

I’m going to have to count the books I got from my school library’s blind date with a book (that I was in charge of planning, by the way).

EGG CUSTARD TART: a book that uses simple ingredients and cliches but executes it perfectly:

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

I mean, this book is basically a walking TV Tropes article and has more cliches than anything else ever written (which is what made it such a classic).

MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK: any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination:

Harry Potter by JK Rowling & Pumpkin Pie (for Pumpkin Pasties!)

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien and hot tea.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl and anything sweet and chocolate-y.

FRIED SESAME BALLS: a book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over:

The Snow Queen and Other Winter Tales from the Barnes and Noble leather-bound classics.

Its the only one of the series that I own and I love it dearly (I bought it for The Nutcracker) . If I ever have a lot of money I’m only buying leather bound books.

TDIM SUM STEAM CART: the type of carrying bag you use to bring books around:

Whatever I happen to be carrying. Usually my school backpack or my purse. I always have books crammed into my knitting bag as well. Although I did recently order a Legend of Zelda bag from Amazon. I ordered it so recently it hasn’t even arrived yet! You can see it here.

I nominate: 

Michelle @thesapphire

@adaisink from Duck and Cover

@queenofblank from The Caffeinated Writer

@dreambydaybookreviews from Dream by Day

@realtastypages from realtastypages

The Featured Photo

It was my ‘Happy Chinese New Year’ post on my bookstagram.

PS: By the American calendar I’m Year of the Tiger, but by the Chinese Lunar Calendar I’m Year of the Dragon. What are you?

5 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. I agree that the ending of Uglies isn’t what I expected. I still haven’t continued the series, but I’m hoping the next couple books have a better payoff. And I hated 1984 when I first read it (also for school), but when I sat down to read it just for myself, it was wonderful. That’s been my experience with most school books (except for Lord of the Flies :p).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read two or three of the Uglies books, I believe, and overall they had about the same appeal. But I hope you like them!
      I’ve only read two things in school and liked it – Night By Elie Wiesel & The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas – but somehow I don’t think I’ll ever like Lord of the Flies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

