This or That

Welcome to Tag Thursday! This week is the ‘This or That’ Tag. I can’t find the original creator of this tag, but personally I found it over on The Sapphire.


 

Physical book or e-book?

Physical.

Audio or book in hand?

Book in hand.

I’ve never been able to get into audio books although the idea should appeal to me (I can read and multitask!) but the truth is that I read too fast to enjoy audio books, the narrator is always to slow to me.

Future teachers: the fastest way to make me angry is to make the class read out loud.

Paperback or hardcover?

Hardcover

It was a hard decision, but I have to say that hardcover books seem to last longer. I hand friends my hardcovers without thinking twice, soft covers I rarely lend.

Adult or Young Adult?

Young adult

Series or standalone?

Series

Because I love long, drawn out character development and plot twists and never having to let go of a character that I love.

Dog ears or bookmarks?

Bookmarks.

I am far too paranoid to dog-ear my pages, but kudos to those of you who can without crying.

Breaking the spine or barely opening the book?

Break the spine.

I always end up rolling the pages back behind the book while reading paperbacks.

Borrow or buy?

Either…….

If I absolutely have to pick: buy.

Bookstore or online?

Bookstore.

Fiction or non-fiction?

Fiction

Although I do enjoy non-fiction on occasion.

Fantasy world or real life issues?

Fantasy.

One of the biggest reasons I don’t read more contemporary is because I always think ‘if I wanted to see all this drama I would just go to school’

Kindle, iPad, or other?

Kindle

Kindle Paperwhite to be exact so I can read in the sun!

Monster read or short & sweet?

Monster

I love short and sweet too, but this goes along with my preference of series over standalone. I just love development and I can’t stand to let go.

Starry-eyed romance or full of action?

Action!

I also believe firmly in action without romance.

Curl up in a Snuggie or bathe in the sun?

Snuggie

Can I have a snuggie while being in the sun? Once upon a time I would have said just the sun, but the sad truth is that for the last year my thyroid has abandoned me and I am left to freeze all year (even while in a hot tub at the beach in July).

Read the review or decide for yourself?

Decide for myself.

Zombies or unicorns?

Unicorns!

8 thoughts on “This or That

  1. I was wary about audiobooks at first too, but I kept thinking that 25 minute walk from the train to my office building was such a waste of good reading time, so I tried it out. I don’t know if you’ve tried this, but I know on apps like Overdrive, you can increase the speed! I listen to them at 1.8x normal speed or 2x normal speed.

    P.S. I always hated reading out loud too!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I tried some of the Doctor Who Audio Adventures a while back (since my favorite Doctor doesn’t have many episodes) and I had a hard time with them. But I’d love to give them another try and actually be able to listen to them.

          Like

          1. I think it’s also about finding the right audiobook. I personally don’t know those Doctor Who ones, but I’ve started audiobooks and quit them when I didn’t like the narrator. But when you find one you really like, they’re awesome!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. The Doctor Who ones are actually read by the cast from the TV show which is why I want to get into them, because I could listen to Sylvester McCoy’s accent all day.

              Like

  2. Audiobooks are like super long films. I was so against it at first but after listening to the Girl on the Train (posted about it on my blog) it changed my mind completely. Maybe it’s me, though. I’m not an avid reader 100% of the time, so I listened to the book when I was feeling lazy, and ended up finishing in 2 or 3 days I think 😋

    Like

Leave a Reply

