Snarky Love Interest

I’m going to be very honest and say that if it weren’t for the mere title of the TV Tropes article Well Excuse Me Princess, I wouldn’t have done this. I just needed to know if anyone else has seen the old Legend of Zelda cartoon because frankly its AWFUL. The reason I bring up this old relic, is because Link’s catchphrase is ‘Well Excuse Me Princess’ every time Zelda gets upset or snarky with him (usually rightfully so). If you’ve not seen the show I can’t say I recommend it, but if you feel the need to hear ‘well excuse me princess’ just watch the embedded clip.


Now that you’re scarred for life, we can talk more about the trope itself. Snarky love interest is a trope where one of the love interests (usually the female and oftentimes a princess) doesn’t just go along with what the other love interest (usually the male) wants.

I think the reason the trope is so popular is because it makes the character seem daring and bold, even if at the danger of making them annoying and also tends to include sexual tension (which is a popular trope in and of itself).

 

Jasmine

Jasmine from Disney’s Aladdin can certainly fit the bill, just watch her interactions with Jafar and Aladdin.

Hermione

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”

Need I say more? Hermione from Harry Potter is anything but a Damsel in Distress and isn’t afraid to let any potential love interest – Ron, Harry, Krum, etc – know it.


Featured Image: 

I posted it on my bookstagram a while back, its my copy of the Hyrule Historia along with my Link action figure.

4 thoughts on “Snarky Love Interest

  1. Oh my gosh, what a blast form a past that old Zelda cartoon is! Absolutely terrible, for sure, but I’m pretty sure I loved it as a kid anyway!

    This is one of the rarely talked about tropes, I think. Especially because I it’s less popular than the innocent girl/bad boy trope. but I actually kind of love this trope?? My first thought was Xander with both Cordelia and Anya from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’m totally about this trope. Oops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

