Winter Lady

This week’s Stereotype Saturday is one of my favorite tropes. ‘Winter Lady’ is when there is a character who can control ice or winter itself. I can’t speak for why this is so popular with others, but for me its something I’ve been obsessed with since I started ice skating.

Something to consider about this trope, is that before Frozen most people weren’t overly familiar with it outside of Narnia, but since then the amount of ‘Ice Queen’ and other costumes available at Halloween have skyrocketed. Do you think this is a good thing? Or do you think it’s a vastly overused trope that needs to take a break?


 

The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen

Possibly the origin of the trope. Certainly the first well-known one.

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis

The Snow Queen is a perfect (and one of the most famous) examples.

Disney’s Frozen

Let it go, let it go….

Heart of Ice by K.M. Shea

Another retelling of The Snow Queen

ASOIAF or Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

The Kings of the North were once known as Kings of Winter

The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 

One of the characters has ice powers and is called ‘the Ice Princess’

The Incredibles

Can’t have this without mentioning Frozone.

X-Men

Ice Man: the one that’s gay in the comics (so I’m told, I haven’t read them), but in love with Rogue in the movies. Bonus points for him because he can actually turn into ice.


Featured Image

The featured image is from my bookstagram account. Yep, those are my skates.

2 thoughts on “Winter Lady

  1. I greatly enjoy this trope, but I also greatly enjoy reading about people with any sort of element-manipulation powers. Storm is by far my favorite X-Men character because of that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

