Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Media Monday
Movie Review
Contains Spoilers

I saw this for the first time yesterday, when I also saw Age of Ultron for the first time (that will be next week’s Media Monday). That was my prom afterparty and I live tweeted the whole thing for your reading pleasure (unfortunately my prom date/comic fanatic friend who watched Deadpool, X-Men, and Batman vs Superman with me couldn’t make it (another friend did though and we had a blast)). So there are going to be spoilers in here, but thats just because I think I’m the last human being on the planet to watch this and honestly if you haven’t by now you probably know how it ends (I did).

I really did like it, it was a really good movie. The best part was probably Natasha, but I am a massive Black Widow fan so no one was surprised by that. Her trying to set Steve up on dates is honestly so cute, I don’t ship them but I adore their friendship (although my friend says they have a kid in the comics named James because Steve picksย the most old-fashioned, unoriginal names ever).

I figured that Nick wasn’t dead from the beginning, but apparently I wasn’t supposed it. Come on, its Nick Fury, the director of SHIELD. Its gonna take more than a few dozen bullets to stop him. I also knew going in who the Winter Soldier is, but at the same time I wasn’t sure what I thought of that whole story. Its a bit odd, to be completely honest. But I feel very bad for Bucky and recruiting Nazis is exactly the thing the government would do (and it would piss Steve off so much). Nat was also really slow about realizing that the computer room where Zuko was was a trap. I figured it out long before her.

I’m glad I watched it, but I didn’t love it as much as I loved Captain America: The First Avenger. Although, my overall love for Cap has gone down since my comic friend says he’s racist against mutants.


My friend honestly thinks this is the funniest thing I’ve ever said and she has yet to stop quoting it. It’s even better when you know that I shouted “HE RIDES ON THE WINGS OF LIBERTY” so loudly that my mom come from upstairs to ask what we were doing. No I don’t live in my parents basement, I live upstairs in my mom’s house and the TV is in the basement.

Black Widow is my favorite Avenger, I’m not gonna lie. I also loved her pretending to date Steve and the “PDA makes people uncomfortable” thing.

This is from the scene where she is trying to set Steve up with a date while breaking onto the SHIELD ship.

I don’t know why Cap decided to go hand-to-hand with that guy, but it was a bad idea.

The little boy recognizing him was so cute, lets be real here.

The Peggy Carter TV show is definitely on my list of things to watch…. along with 72 other things (no joke).

Busting through walls since 1942.

Like I said, I really, really love Black Widow.

Just ask Darcy Lewis.

Cap beating up the plane with his shield was a little far fetched, even for Marvel.

Sam Wilson is actually really great. 10/10 approve.

Seriously though, its all happening in BROAD DAYLIGHT!!

4 thoughts on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier

  1. I also thought this movie was great, but definitely not as good as the first one. If you watch Agents of Shield along with the Agent Peggy Carter series — there are a lot of cross-overs and callbacks. Way cool. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

