Childhood Characters to Revisit as An Adult

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held by Broke and Bookish.

May 3: Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (ie a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.


Abbie

Keep the Lights Burning, Abbie by Peter Roop 

I can’t remember why I picked this up, I’m pretty sure it had something to do with the AR program (remember that one that bribed you to read and you got points? Well I always did poorly because with a few exceptions (like this one), the books I read were so advanced they weren’t in the system). And I barely remember what it’s about, but when I think of books I read as a child it’s one of the first to come to mind.

Donatello

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

One of the best TV shows and movies (I’m talking about the eighties show and the nineties movies, I’ve not seen the more recent ones (its on my to-watch list)). Donatello was what I wanted to be as an adult. He was a scientist and he wore purple!!

Encyclopedia Brown

Encyclopedia Brown by Donald Sobol

I don’t remember picking this up until about fourth grade, but soon I fell in love with the clever main character. It’s like Sherlock Holmes for kids!! He’s always there to save the day in a collection of short stories (unfortunately I never owned a copy myself. I may have to change that).

Jack and Annie

The Magic Tree House by Mary Pope Osborne

One of the things that makes this so memorable is that one of my best friends read it too. In fact, as recently as Middle School we would race to see who could get and read a new book whenever it came out. He’s still one of my dearest friends, in fact, and was unbothered by receiving a Facebook message from me the other day that read, “Can I invite myself to your Graduation? If not I’m coming anyway.” I might give him one, just as a joke at graduation.

Junie B. Jones

Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park

My mom doesn’t love this series, but she gives it a lot of credit for what it did for me. This might be hard to believe, but I hated reading as a kid! From before Kindergarten my mom was reading me classics like Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings, and then I would go to school and they would try and make me read the books by Margaret Hillert. Listen, no disrespect to her, but her books are no where near as interesting as what mom read me, so I refused to read until I discovered Junie B. Jones and Magic Tree House in second grade.

Miss Frizzle

The Magic School Bus

While it wasn’t just a book series – you can bet I’ve read and watched them all – The Magic School bus was one of my favorite things ever as a kid.

Nancy Drew

Nancy Drew by Caroline Keene

Nancy Drew was my childhood hero. I never really got into the Hardy Boys as much, but I wanted to be Nancy (and I was for several Halloweens as recently as Sophomore Year of High School). I had pretty much all the games and a huge portion of the books (including some that were my mom’s when she was a kid). In fact, I still have a lot of them, and the bright yellow covers still make me nostalgic.

Velma Dinkley

Scooby-Doo

I wanted to be Velma Dinkly when I was a child. Just like her I had glasses, however, unlike her I was one of the tallest in my class (until High School, I quit growing in High School). Velma taught me that it’s okay to be a nerdy girl and that you can totally be proud of that. Thanks Vel.


 

What about you? What characters inspired you as a child and what characters do you remember most clearly?

BRB, off to the library to pick up some nostalgia.

6 thoughts on “Childhood Characters to Revisit as An Adult

Leave a Reply

