Book Sacrifice Tag

This week’s Tag Thursday even is The Book Sacrifice Tag. I can’t find the origin of the tag game, but I personally found it over on Moonlight Blogs.

An Over-Hyped Book:

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

The Winnner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I haven’t finished this yet, however, I haven’t finished it because I couldn’t. I didn’t see what everyone else saw in it. Even though I thought it was good, it wasn’t as good as everyone was telling me it would be, and I think because

A Sequel:

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

The Haunted Mysteries Series by  Chris Grabenstein

I loved book one, but from there they just seemed to go downhill. The last few were decent as stand-a-lone books, but did not hold up when compared to the first Haunted Mysteries book, The Crossroads.

Also: in one of the later books, someone is murdered by shooting him in the head and then to cover their crime they put him in his car, jam the accelerator, and slam it into a tree so it looks like a car crash. That’s not how forensics work. Even if the bullet melted (as the character said it would) there would be signs of bullet trauma that the fire from the engine exploding wouldn’t cover. I met Mr. Grabenstein (fantastic man!) in person and I had to bite my tongue not to tell him this.

A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

This is possibly the hardest question on this list, because I think that even classics that I don’t like are important in the scale of the universe. Imagine the world without Frankenstein or Dracula??? So huge cosmic troubles aside:

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck 

I had to read this for 11th grade english and I could not get into it at all. I didn’t get into any of the characters and the ending was terrible AND depressing.

A Least Favorite Book:

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer 

I thought the first book was okay? And some parts of the series are good ideas? But on the whole I can’t believe people don’t realize Edward is c-REEPY (and then Jacob imprinting on Nessie. Ewwww). I’ve read all four books (I was made to) and I’ve (thankfully) only seen the first two movies.

One thought on “Book Sacrifice Tag

Leave a Reply

