Books I Picked Up on A Whim

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held by Broke and Bookish

May 17: Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim (however you decide to interpret that (bought or read or something else) — I know most people read based on recommendation but we want to know those books you picked up without really hearing about or knowing much about!)


Before Midnight by Cameron Dokey

This is a part of the “Once Upon a Time” series that covers a plethora of fairytales and folk stores. It’s the only one I’ve read and I can’t wait to read more. The best part? They don’t have to be read in order.

Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

I saw this at Barnes and Noble and I grabbed it without having to think. It’s about Black Widow for goodness sake!!!

Read my review here

Daughter of Venice by Donna Jo Napoli

I just grabbed this because I loved the cover and the subject (Renaissance Venice!).

The Hunger Games by Susan Collins

I read this quite a while before the movies came out, and the funniest part is that I distinctly remember talking to my mom about how hard it would be make into a movie.

I just picked it up because I had never really read dystopian before and it seemed different.

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

This was absolutely a cover buy (and because it had been too long since I got into a long fantasy book and I wanted to try again).

Read my review here

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen

I rarely read memoirs, but this one was so strange sounding that I couldn’t resist. And after all, Maya isn’t the only one who loves vintage fashion!

Splintered by AG Howard

Totally a cover buy. It helps that I love anything Alice in Wonderland, but really, the covers are to die for.

Read my review here

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schultz

I got it at the same time I bought a Nutcracker retelling, so it was clear that I was just hunting for a good story about dolls and the Victorian era.

Read my review here

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George

It just sounded so whimsical and different that I had to give it a try (hello: the castle has a conscious!). I wasn’t disappointed. Its completely insane, but a very solid middle grade fantasy.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I saw this at the library and the cover drew me in before I ever read the summary. Then I had to get anything that flipped the idea of a dragon kidnapping a princess.

Read my review here

The Wolf Princess by Cathryn Constable

I grabbed this book because I loved the fact that the pages were purple and it was set in Russia.

One thought on “Books I Picked Up on A Whim

Leave a Reply

