Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held by Broke and Bookish

May 24:  Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)


 

City of Bones

by Cassandra Clare

Between hearing about the plagiarism scandal and the fact that she wrote The Very Secret Diaries I never could bring myself to consider reading any of her works. However, she’s one of my best friend’s favorite authors so I may have to force myself to read them for her sake.

The Hunger Games

by Susanne Collins

I really, really loved it when I first read it, but I honestly feel as though the movies over-hyped it. Yes it’s good, but is it really that good? It just became more and more frustrating as time passed (and the fans are a bit crazy).

The Lord of the Rings

by JRR Tolkien

I used to think this was the best book ever written, however, as I’ve read other things and more of Tolkien’s works, I’ve realized that while he writes beautiful stories he is not a ‘good author.’ Primarily he is a historical and a language nerd, and that was what his books were written for, to create a background for the languages he had written, not to tell a story or be read-able.

Twilight

by Stephanie Meyer

When I first read this series, I thought it was okay. Now, looking back. It was not okay. The first book was pretty good, but the rest just went down hill and involve a girl who makes poor life decisions and taught an entire generation of teens that if your boyfriend leaves you, you can mope around for months on end.

6 thoughts on “Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. I read all of those books and have a slightly different opinion (except about the Lord of the Rings, I think pretty much the same about that one). Twilight: I kind of agree, although I must say taht for me it was much more intense. When I first read them (at the age of 16 or so) I absolutely loved them (and read them over and over again). Then (after school) I went abroad for a year and after my return I wantred to read them again but couldn’t. They made me cringe so much, I found them realy horrible and haven’t read them again since. The Hunger Games (like the Lord of the Rings) has better movies than books in my opinion (although I have only seen the first two movies). My problem is that I found the books really badly written and I absolutely dislike Katniss (which is obviously a huge problem). The basic idea is quite good though, I think (although the trid book didn’t really match the other two). And City of Bones… I didn’t know about any plagiarism, I will have to look into that. But they are some of my very favourite books (all series). I really like the characters and there are a lot of funny and sarcastic scenes in there which I really like.

    Like

  2. I agree with you on all of these things, except for the Cassandra Clare series. Hearing about her stuff just makes me cringe knowing all the stuff about plagiarism. Luckily, I don’t have any friends who are in love with it, so I don’t have that dilemma. It’s a shame some great books can’t stay great in our heads. I was so disappointed when I realized that the hype was ruining Hunger Games for me. :/ Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

