My Best Friend’s Favorite Books

This is a cute thing thing that I saw on The Bookshelf Of Emily J a very long time ago and I decided to do it about my best friend. The reason it took so long for it to be published? I waited until my friend and I were going on our Senior Trip to Disney World!

My best friend means the world to me, and so I request you don’t pick on her choice of books. Not only is she my closest confident she was also my prom date (see more about that here) and has had a bigger impact on me than I can say. This is also the friend who took me to Deadpool (see review), Batman vs Superman (see review), and watched all the X-Men films with me (see review). So clearly she’s stuck through a lot with me. She also visited me and entertained me for several hours when I had my surgery a few months ago.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 8.16.06 PM.png

Since my friend only has three books on her favorites shelf on Goodreads, I’m going with the things that she’d given five stars. And if she’s marked more than one book of a series I’ll only post about the series in general.

What I learned most of all from this experiment that is I often dismiss how much she reads by thinking ‘oh she only reads comics’ which is completely untrue!

The X Men

Have I read it? No (I have seen the movies though)

They’re comics – and my BFF doesn’t seem to have figured out that she can put those on goodreads yet – but I’m going to include them anyway because she loves the X-Men with all her heart.

The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

Have I read it? No

She mentioned that she liked this series the other day, but I didn’t know she had ranked them all so highly! I mentioned in my Unpopular Opinions Tag that I’m not a fan of Cassandra Clare, but if my BFF likes her so much I may try it.

The Only Pirate at the Party by Lindsey Stirling, Brooke S. Passey

Have I read it? No

I don’t know what this is about, but I do know my friend’s dream is to be a pirate in Middle Earth so I’m sure she loved this.

The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

Have I read it? No

I’ve heard  so many good things about this series, and knowing that she’s read it is just the final reason I need to read it.

Percy Jackson, The Kane Chrolocles by Rick Riordan

Have I read it? Yes

I’ve read all of the Percy Jackson and some of the Kane Chronicles. I liked them well enough, but not enough to read all of them which my BFF seems to have done.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

Have I read it? Yes

I think we both would agree that Henrietta Lacks is the best thing we’ve ever been assigned for school. In the summer that I was supposed to be reading it I liked it so much I read it twice. She loved it so much because she wants to be a doctor when she grows up.

We also both go to the school that became pretty famous last year when a parent of a student tried to ban it.

Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Have I read it? Yes

Of course I’ve read this. I’m a proud Ravenclaw and she is a proud Slytherin.

A Man Without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut

Have I read it? No

I’ve never read anything by Kurt Vonnegut, so I suppose that when I have time I might as well start here.

The Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin

Have I read it? Yes

She keeps up with the series every week and is working her way though the books as quickly as she can. I’ve read the first two books and thought it was decent, and I intend to give it another shot some time.

Heist Society Series by Ally Carter

Have I read it? No

I’ve actually not heard of this series before, but now that I’ve seen this I’m probably gonna check it out!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Have I read it? No

This book is actually the reason I’ve not tried John Green – other than he writes outside my usual genre – because I can’t stand the thought that this book caused some people to think cancer is romantic. I know its not his fault that some of his fans are teenage girls who will make anything look romantic, but it disgusts me.

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

Have I read it? No

I’ve heard fantastic things about this, so I will most likely be reading it at some time.

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Have I read it? No

Funny story about this one. When I was a kid I got it intending to read it, but once I realized it was a classic I got rid of it. Child me wasn’t really into all those books by ‘old, dead, guys.’

Sophia’s World A tale of the Revolution by Avi

Have I read it? No

I’ve never gotten into anything I tried by Avi, which is probably why I never tried Sophia’s World.

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

Have I read it? No

Once again, I think I picked it up at some point and set it aside.

The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins

Have I read it? Yes

She’s actually the reason I’ve not seen the later movies, because she tells me they’re terrible.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Have I read it? Yes

I’m actually the one who made her read this, so it’s not a coincidence that we’ve both read it. I am her “Tolkien Expert” and she likes watching the movies with me and having me within texting distance when she reads the books so we can chat.


Featured Image

The featured image is our corsages from prom. I made them. Her’s is the one with the large comic flower and mine is the one with the large book flower. We got lots of compliments.

4 thoughts on “My Best Friend’s Favorite Books

Leave a Reply

