Captain America: Civil War

Media Monday
Movie Review

A few weeks ago (my last Monday of high school!) my friends and I went and saw Civil War. My BFF couldn’t make it, so I took the Colossus Funko Pop she had given me instead. Then I went back a few days later and took my BFF and my mom.

Martin Freeman is in this movie and the new Spider-man is great and that’s literally all you need to know. And Black Widow kicks butt.

Don’t read any farther if you don’t want it spoiled!!

Whose Side Did I Pick?

I jokingly said I was Team Black Widow because I couldn’t pick a side. Although, after seeing the movie and where she lets Cap and Bucky escape I have to say, I’m still Team Black Widow. She’s one of my favorite Super Heroes – as I mentioned in my review of Black Widow: Forever Red – and right now one of the only Avengers I’m not at least a little mad at.

The Characters

Iron Man

I really don’t know what I think of him, so I’m not going to say much.

Vision

Vision is a pretty nice guy, but it did bother me that none of my friends were mad at him for trying to make Wanda do what he wanted. Thats not how relationships work.

Captain America

My best friend hates him – she says that in the comics he’s ‘racist against mutants’ (remember that she’s the X-Men superfan) and she was delighted by the newest revelation about Comic Steve which Stan Lee thinks is crazy – but I really don’t feel strongly one way or the other. Except that him pulling down the helicopter was pretty absurd.

Black Widow

Winter Soldier

So apparently there’s a lot of debate online about Bucky’s ‘innocence’ and I will say that I personally think he can’t be held responsible for what he did for Hydra.

Falcon

I like Sam. I love his snarky relationship with everyone ever and his line about ‘so you like cats’ is priceless.

War Machine / Iron Patriot 

I still haven’t seen any of the Iron Man movies, so I had no idea who he was going in, but I still loved him (although I still don’t get why he needs so many names).

Hawkeye

Clint was perfect, as always.

Black Panther

I’m really getting tired of this “I’m angsty so I’m gonna tear everything up, but you have to forgive me because I was distraught” trope. No I don’t have to forgive you automatically, you still have to earn that. Now after knowing that he’s helping Cap and Bucky I may forgive him, but he still has to earn that.

Scarlet Witch

Great of course. I didn’t see the love story coming, but I’m told its in the comics.

Ant-man

I really wanted to see the Ant-man movie just for Evangeline Lilly (I loved her as Tauriel in The Hobbit) but I never got around to it. So now I really want to see it because he was actually a pretty cool character.

Spider-man

I loved the new Spidey. I feel like Tony kind of manipulated him, though, and didn’t tell him everything. I still hope we see more of him in future Avengers movies.

Aunt May was far too young in my opinion.

Overall

Personally I think any comic and comic movie fan should see this. It’s a pretty epic story line – although I’m sure the comic storyline is better because it includes literally every Marvel character – and there’s a lot of action.

My biggest complaint was how slow it was to get going. It kind of reminded me of Batman Vs. Superman in that I feel some of the beginning should and could have been skipped (its much better than BvS though).

3 thoughts on “Captain America: Civil War

  1. I think you need to watch the Iron Man movies. Not because of the comic book connection, but because Robery Downy Jr is awesome as Tony Stark. I think you’ll like that version better than this Civil War one. Not that I’ve seen Civil War yet, but I can imagine the ‘burdened with glorious purpose’…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

