Disney World Wrap Up

Some of this is just talking about my trip and what I did, but I’m also going to talk about the books I took, which ones I read, and which ones I bought while there.

Books

Taken

(I won’t be including every single book that’s on my Kindle, just the ones that I actually took with the intention of reading)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Astonishing X-Men: First Class by Peter David

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Read

Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell

The Wild Orchid: A Retelling of the Balad of Mulan by Cameron Dokey

The Haunted Mansion: Imaginering a Disney Classic by Jason Surrell

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Astonishing X-Men: Gifted Prose Novel by Peter David

 

Bought

The Jungle Book: The Strength of the Wolf is the Pack by Scott Peterson and Joshua Pruett

Star Wars: Moving Target by Cecil Castellucci and Jason Fry

The Haunted Mansion: Imagineering a Disney Classic by Jason Surrell





Characters Met

To me, one of the best parts of Disney is meeting the characters. Yes the rides are fun, but the characters add just a little extra magic that you can’t find anywhere else. I hadn’t thought we were going to do this many meet and greets, but my friend got hooked so we did a ton.

Magic Kingdom

  • Merida
  • Mickey Mouse
    • Theatre Costume
  • Aladin and Jasmine
  • Belle
    • at the Enchanted Tales with Belle
  • Ariel
    • at her Grotto (so she had a tail)
  • Tinkerbel
  • Peter Pan
  • Cinderella
  • Rapunzel

EPCOT

  • Mulan
    • China Pavilion
  • Alice
    • UK Pavilion

Animal Kingdom

  • Pocahontas
  • Mickey Mouse
    • safari gear at Tusker House
  • Goofy
    • safari gear at Tusker House
  • Donald Duck
    • safari gear at Tusker House
  • Daisy
    • safari gear at Tusker House




I have a step counter on my phone and I thought it would be interesting to share some of my totals and stats. The distance is in miles.

I also included all my social media posts (in the order of the events referenced, not in the order they were posted).

Saturday May 21

Parks: None

Notes: This was the first day of our trip. We picked her up at her house, stopped by Cracker Barrel for breakfast (but I had lunch), and then drove all the way to Florida (but stopped about two hours short of Disney).

Steps: 2,215

Distance: 1.1

This was at the beginning of our trip when I was vibrant and full of life (and now my friend wants to egg the Atlanta Braves Stadium on the way home).

On our way to the Happiest Place on Earth!!

A post shared by Camryn (@camryn.daytona) on

My friend posted this to snapchat so I saved it and instagrammed it.

We stopped and mom got out of the car, so we hid Bailey under a blanket in the backseat. Mom got back in and didn’t even notice, just started driving (at which point I made her stop so Bailey could get up and buckle in).

I’m not a huge fan of the Georgia interstate. I’m sure the state is nice, but the interstate sucks.

It was HUGE, larger than the US flags that food stores tend to have outside.

‘UT’ is the University of Tennessee. It’s where I’m going next year and I’m honestly not a fan of the colors (try living fifteen minutes down the road, the colors are EVERYWHERE).

I was really happy to be out of Georgia. I have nothing against the state as a whole, but the interstate was kind of freaking me out.

We stopped at a hotel about two hours from Orlando for the night and there was a beetle in the room. So Bailey ran out screaming. The photo was taken from inside the hotel room while she was banging on the door wanting back in.

Sunday May 22

Parks: Magic Kingdom and Epcot

Notes: This was only a half day because it was also the day that we arrived.

Steps: 17,133

Distance: 6.71

Driving through Florida.

A post shared by Camryn (@camryn.daytona) on

She poses while driving. Thats safe, right? (don’t try this at home (or in your car) kiddos).

She’s really weird but I love her.

This was our room, as you can tell we both love books.

The graduates storm Mouse Land!!

A post shared by Camryn (@camryn.daytona) on

We celebrated the first day by getting matching hats and posing in front of Cinderella Castle. We also visited Mickey Mouse but I didn’t post those photos.

Then we went to Epcot!

Monday May 23

Parks: Magic Kingdom

Notes:

Steps: 18,482

Distance: 7.04

I was having a small crisis over the scar left over from my surgery. If scars get too much sun they don’t heal as well, which is why you’ll notice I kept it covered either with high collared shirts or with the Cheshire cat scarf I picked up.

Bailey had a great idea: if any kids point or say anything I should say I got it fighting a dragon.

Man this was so cute. We were on the ferry boat from Magic Kingdom to the resort we were staying at when it happened. The parents were just so willing to learn and to adapt to what their daughter wanted.

We took a break one day to hang out at the cabin for a while, and I was playing on buzzfeed when I saw an article complaining about the X-Men snapchat filters so of course I jumped to try them out. And no, I don’t like Cyclops but thats just the one I posted.

I liked the Nightcrawler filter the best.

Mom was sleeping on the couch and Bailey was sleeping on the bunk bed so I was alone and sad.

I’m not sure what they would have looked like but I’m sure they could have been done.

Tuesday May 24

Parks: EPCOT, Magic Kingdom

Notes:

Steps: 22,641

Distance: 8.73

We met the worlds biggest book-lover IN HER LIBRARY!!

A post shared by Camryn (@camryn.daytona) on

I met Belle and she gave me a book mark. If you’re familiar with Disney World, this was in Enchanted Tales with Belle in the new Fantasy Land extension.

It was late and I was hungry and I don’t eat most of those things when I can avoid it. I’m a pretty picky eater and my best friend is allergic to a lot of foods. What a great team we make.

Wednesday May 25

Parks: Animal Kingdom, Downtown Disney/Disney Springs

Notes:

Steps: 17,745

Distance: 7.25

This is from The Festival of the Lion King at Animal Kingdom.

I survived a roller coaster so I had to prove it. (I’m not really one for thrill rides, but Bailey talked me into giving them a try.)

We were at Downtown Disney (now Disney Springs) and I was having way too much fun (and kept getting lost and separated from my mother).

My friend is pretty picky, and yet no one seemed to be able to get her order right (even though it was correct on her receipt).

We were trying to get a bus from Downtown Disney/Disney Springs and another bus driver was having trouble.

Thursday May 26

Parks: Hollywood Studios, Magic Kingdom

Notes:

Steps: 17,080

Distance: 6.47

Happy Red Nose Day from Hollywood!!! @rednosedayusa @rednoseday #waltdisneyworld #hollywood #hollywoodstudios

A post shared by Camryn (@camryn.daytona) on

We were there for Red Nose Day, so of course we had to be epic about it!

This was at Mama Melrose’s in Hollywood Studios. Despite taking three years of Latin I had to text a friend for a translation. It was worth it though.

I say ‘I took three years of Latin’ because it sounds better than ‘I failed Latin I the first time and had to retake it and then took Latin II and ran away screaming.’

Friday May 27

Parks: EPCOT, Magic Kingdom

Notes:

Steps: 18,926

Distance: 7.14

I mean, he’s definitely not wrong.

(Maciah is my weird library friend). Who am I kidding? All my friends are weird.

I also fell into a bush in the process, so I’m not sure if I apologized to the bush or the curb.

Saturday May 28

Parks: Magic Kingdom

Notes: This was our last day, so we didn’t spend a full day at the parks. We left Disney about 3 in the afternoon and checked into the hotel in Georgia about 8:30.

Steps: 10,772

Distance: 4.41

For our last day we rode one of my favorite rides.

This was my first post about the ride home and the book in question was The Haunted Mansion: Imaginering a Disney Classic.

I was just sleep-deprived enough to be optimistic (before this I hadn’t posted anything because I had fallen asleep in the car which I haven’t done since I was about 6).

There is at least a sign per mile about a strip club or “adult superstore.”

Sunday May 28

Parks: None

Notes: This was our last day and was mostly spent driving.

Steps: 10,772

Distance: 4.41

Cordele, Georgia and I did not get along.

Atlanta.

 

One thought on “Disney World Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

