Reading Speed Tag

This week’s Tag Thursday is by yours truly

This was published as part of my Clearing Out My Drafts goal.

What’s Your Reading Speed?

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 10.38.51 AMI was helping with my school’s Nation History Day a while ago and I had a break, so I started scrolling through Buzzfeed’s books and came across this article about a test that pits your average reading speed against the national average.

It only seems to have two book options; Alice in Wonderland and something else I didn’t recognize. This is all fine and good except that the test you take at the end – testing to see if you actually read the passage – could be answered (for the Alice reading) if you’ve seen the Disney movie.

ereader test
Source: Staples eReader Department

The test is a fun waste of time: but don’t let it worry you too much if you don’t do well! As long as you’re content with your speed there’s nothing wrong with it.

Do you want to improve it?

I’m happy with my speed, or at least I should be. The competitive part of me wants to get an absurdly high number just so I can say I beat people, but the reader in me knows that sometimes slowing down is the best way to read.

Is speed important to you?

Not really. I think what matters most is that you enjoy what you’re reading (if its for fun) or remember what you’re reading (if its for educational reasons).

Who do you tag?

Anyone who wants to!

Michelle @ The Sapphire

Celine @ Celine Reads

Olivia @ Libro Liv

4 thoughts on “Reading Speed Tag

Leave a Reply

