Musings on JK Rowling

To all of the people who think JK Rowling should just stop writing Harry Potter: just stop. Its her world and its her characters. Let the woman do whatever she wants. You cannot tell her what to do with them.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, I’ve always wanted to write and to share my thoughts with the world, but the last year, I’ve been having second thoughts. If someone can be as amazing as JK Rowling, and yet people still turn on her, what will they do to someone like me?

JK Rowling is an amazing woman and an amazing person, she does more charity work than I can begin to list (but I will if I have to), do you want her to ‘stop’ helping refugees? To ‘stop’ her charity fundraisers? Because if you’re telling her to stop writing, how can she continue helping charities?

A lot of people don’t like her because she speaks her mind and addresses her opinion. They’re not happy that her opinions don’t align with theirs. Well, newsflash, she has just as much right to express her opinion as you do.

“Why is JK Rowling still writing?” you ask. I dunno. Maybe because she’s an author?

“Why does she make all of this stuff up?” Hmmm. Maybe thats her job.

“She’s just doing it for attention.” Or maybe she enjoys it? Which is why its her job? I dunno, its seems super weird to pick something you love as your job.

If she includes diverse characters, you get mad. If she doesn’t, you get mad. This is why I’m terrified, TERRIFIED of being what I want to be.

Our society has become one in which people think their idols have to be perfect. You’re not allowed to be just a writer, or just an actor, or just a musician anymore, you also have to be the paragon of society. Everything they do, every word, every glance, is over analyzed by internet trolls who want to be able to say “I’m the one who proved Taylor Swift is sexist” or “I’m the one who proved that JK Rowling is racist.”

6 thoughts on “Musings on JK Rowling

  1. I’m in the camp that JK Rowling should stop writing about Harry Potter, and I’ll tell you why. Because each subsequent thing makes the original series a little less magical. Now- I’m not saying that I want her to stop writing- no! Not at all! She’s one of my favorite authors! I’m not even saying that she has to stop writing about that WORLD. She has lots of fantastical histories in her head, and lots of bits about the other schools. I’m saying that she should stop writing specifically about Harry Potter. And Hermione Granger, and Ron Weasley. That story has been told.

    See- I’m used to books leaving stuff to your imagination, but each little tidbit she releases on Pottermore makes the original series seem a little less magical. It becomes less of a fantastical (but tragic) story, and more of the weekly celebrity sighting. Less magical, more mundane.

    And I’m sure she has lots more to say about that world, so write a set about things happening at Ilvermorny or Durmstrang, or one of the other schools. There are wizards around the world- does everything have to be about Harry Potter? (Did you know that she gave another author, G. Norman Lippert, permission to write books about James Potter?)

    Plus- she has seen success with her Robert Galbraith novels; already proving that she can have a successful career outside of Harry Potter. And I definitely don’t want her to stop her activism or philanthropy. JK IS an amazing woman. I just don’t want her to get stuck on Harry Potter and have them BOTH suffer because of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with some of what you’re saying, however, one of my favorite authors is Tolkien specifically because of the amount of word building, so thats part of my POV. I’m just very detail oriented I suppose. And a lot of it she might have already had drafted in her head or in notebooks. I know I have a lot more world building for my stories than will ever show up in them.

      Like

      1. Most fiction authors have extensive histories and character backstory. It helps them with continuity and understanding what needs to happen. As a writer- I’m all for it. But as a reader- I don’t need to know every little thing about Frodo or the ring. I think that’s why I’m having a hard time reading Tolkien. The world is fantastic and rich, but I don’t need to know ALL of it, to love it. And Tolkien is VERY wordy.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

