Books That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held by Broke and Bookish

July 5:  Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads (we’ve done underrated books a bunch of times in the past 6 years but thanks to Lenore at Celebrity Readers for suggesting this topic as a new way to talk about underrated books especially when underrated is subjective. An easy way to find this — go to Goodreads, your read list, at the top of your read list where it says settings you can add a column for # of ratings, then you can sort by that. If you aren’t a Goodreads user you can look up books you think are underrated and see what their # of reviews is on Goodreads? Or if that’s too hard you can spin it some other way!


Ace!: The Inside Story of the End of an Era 

Author: Mike Tucker, Sophie Aldred
My rating: 4 stars
Reviews: 60

You would not believe how hard I had to work to find this book, it went out of print in the nineties, and, because people have a bad taste in Doctor Who companions, hasn’t been brought back since.

It tells the story of my favorite Doctor Who companion (well, the talented woman who played her) and is a very interesting (and hilarious) book.

The Sillymarillion: An Unauthorized Parody of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Classic the Silmarillion

Author: Lloyd
My Rating: Four Stars
Reviews: 60

Its a parody of one of the most serious books ever – the Silmarillion – and is just absolutely hilarious. All Tolkien fans should read it.

Doctor Who: Dragonfire (Doctor Who Library (Target) #137)

Author: Ian Briggs
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 252

Why do I love this so much? Its the novelization of one of my all time favorite Doctor Who serials. Seriously, Dragonfire has it all (and the novelization has even more!) Ace McShane (my favorite companion), the Doctor (the Seventh version who is clearly the best), and a great story with random time travel and explosives thrown in!

The Haunted Mansion: Imagineering a Disney Classic

Author Jason Surrell
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 268

I got this on my last Disney trip and I loved it! It the behind the scenes

Astonishing X-Men: Gifted Prose Novel

Author: Peter David
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 423

I guess a lot of people don’t read comic book novelizations, which is a shame, because, for me, its much easier to read.

Doctor Who: Remembrance of the Daleks (Doctor Who Library (Target) #148)

Author: Ben Aaronovitch
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 1306

I think this may be Sylvester McCoy’s most iconic episode, and the novelization of it does not let down.

Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It: False Apology Poems

Author: Gail Carson Levine, Matthew Cordell
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 1072

Gail Carson Levine is, as I always say, one of my all time favorite writers, and this is one of her easiest reads. Its a poetry anthology thats all written in the style of the following poem (the one its all based on), titled This is Just to Say, by William Carlos Williams:

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox
and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast
Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

Dr. Seuss Goes to War: The World War II Editorial Cartoons of Theodor Seuss Geisel

Author: Richard H. Minear, Art Spiegelman (Introduction), Dr. Seuss
My Rating: 4 stars
Reviews: 1081

A little known fact: Dr. Seuss once did war propaganda, and this book includes it and analyses it. Its a super nerdy book, but its right up my alley.

The Crossroads (Haunted Mystery #1)

Author: Chris Grabenstein
My Rating: 5 stars
Reviews: 1641

The Caged Graves

Author: Dianne K. Salerni
My Review: 5 stars
Ratings: 1985

4 thoughts on “Books That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads

    1. Actually, the Caged Graves is the only thing that is anything close to Horror (its about witchcraft but its actually not, just historical fiction). The Crossroads is also technically horror, but its for kids and really funny. The Haunted Mansion is about the ride at Disney. (I just realized that somehow I published that post without finishing it!!) I also usually steer clear of horror, except occasionally around Halloween.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

