Guest Post: Most Recent Additions to Your Wishlist

Hey everyone! Today’s post is a special guest post from my school friend Mac, who regularly posts on his tumblr at nerds-and-novels.  I invited him to make some posts on my blog a while back and he’s finally taken me up on the offer so I’m super excited. 

Mac’s BlogMac’s TwitterMac’s Goodreads


For those who don’t know, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is now currently moderated by Sam of thoughtsontomes. Top 5 Wednesday, or T5W for short, is where booktubers, book bloggers, reviewers, and anyone who enjoys reading can participate in making weekly lists based on what topic is chosen for that week. You can check out the Goodreads group for more information.

This week is our Top 5 Most Recent Additions to Your Wish List.

This topic could not have been better timed because I recently updated my book wish list on Amazon, so now it has a ton of new items that I am genuinely excited about. Plus, my birthday is in one month, so it might be able to get some of the books I have on here, which is always exciting.
Though, I would like to note that I’m kind of bending the rules this week. Instead of choosing the books that were the most recent entries on my wish list, I chose five of my more recent additions that I’m most excited for and have a bigger priority to me. I felt this would turn out a better list overall.

Before I begin, as always, I would like to give some honorable mentions:

  • The Wold Wilder by Katherine Rundell
  • Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson


5.) Faith, Vol. 1: Hollywood and Vine by Jody Houser, Francis Portela, and Marguerite Sauvage

image

All I needed to hear was that this comic was about a fat girl superhero and I was sold. I was determined to go to nearly every comic store in my area to see if they had it. Sadly, no one had it in stock, and it’s a shame because I feel this is a very important comic. This is about Faith, a fat girl who decided to take control of her destiny by assuming the identify of Zephyr, the city’s own superhero. I’m sure there is more to the synopsis, but I already know that I want to invest money into this series and have it be the start of my comics and graphic novels collection. I also put it on the list to hopefully get people interested due to this not being the most popular comic series by the most popular publishing house. Again, I do feel this is an important series because we rarely see a lot of plus-sized main characters. All in all, I am super eager to get my hands on this.

4.) A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

image

This book has been on my radar for a while now, and the more I hear about it, the more I want it. This tome is about four friends who, after college, move to New York City to try and make it on their own. The story seems to mainly focus on the characters’ relationships with one another and the struggles they all go through over the years. I’m sure I’m only scratching the surface as to what this book has to offer, and it seems like one of those stories where I get incredibly invested and attached to the characters. Furthermore, I hear this book has some strong queer representation, which is always welcomed. A Little Life just seems authentic and not afraid to shy away from what it wants to communicate, which makes me want to read it even more. Needless to say, I need this beast of a book in my life.

3.) The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

image

Much like A Little Life, this book has been on my radar for quite some time, but my interest in it was rather minimal. I’ve heard good things, but there was nothing that got me terribly excited about it. I knew it was a fantasy where humans and fae coexisted in a small town that, due to the faeries, has become a tourist hotspot. I knew it was about a sister and brother who understood how dangerous the fae could actually be. However, I recently heard this book described as, and I quote, “An urban fantasy where the female leads wants to be the knight and her brother dreams of finding his own prince.” This completely changed the way I looked at this book. Naturally, I was very interested in how the book messed with gender roles and how it included queer representation (which people conveniently forget to include when talking about this book, but I digress). This was something new that hooked me into wanting to read it, taking it from “mild interest” status to “I need to own this book as soon as humanly possible” status, becoming one of my most anticipating reads. It’s been on my TBR for over a year, but now I just need to own it.

2.) This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

image

Speaking of anticipating reads, it is no surprise that a Victoria Schwab novel made it onto the list. While I’ve only read one of her novels, Vicious, I am tempted to already wanting to consider Schwab one of my favorite authors, but I want to read more of her books before I confidently say so, which is no problem whatsoever. Her latest book, This Savage Song, sounds like a really intense and exciting read as it takes place in a city ravaged by war between humans and monsters. and our main characters are from their respective side. It honestly sounds amazing and, with pretty much anything Schwab write, I just have to own it and read it. One detail that piqued my interest is that Schwab herself confirmed that this duology will not feature a romance of any kind, and while I don’t mind a romance on the side, I will admit that it is refreshing to see something like this a young adult novel. The exclusion of a romance will probably be a strength of this novel as it will allow constant focus on the action, Needless to say, I cannot wait to pick up this book.

1.) Pax by Sara Pennypacker

image

I will admit that it is shocking for me to have this book on the top spot considering I usually don’t gravitate towards middle grade fiction all that often. Yet, when I saw Adriana of perpetualpages haul this book (along withA Little Life and The Darkest Part of the Forest), I decided to look more into it, and I never looked back. Our main character, Peter, has raised a fox named Pax ever since it was a kit, but they eventually have to be separated once Peter’s father enlists in the war, causing them to move. The story focuses on both Peter and Pax, switching between their perspectives, as they try to find their way pack to one another. The premise is giving me Homeward Bound-meets-The Fox and the Hound vibes, which is just a recipe for both excellence and heartbreak. I’ve heard in wrap-ups and reviews that there is only sadness awaiting anyone who decided to read it, and quite honestly, that just makes me want to read it more. I guess I’m just in a mood for this kind of story. If I can help it, this will be one of the first books I will try and obtain because I was want it so badly.


And yet another Top 5 Wednesday list is completed, and this was probably my favorite one I’ve done thus far. It’s great to just talk about the books I’m most excited to get to, and hopefully I actually will with my birthday coming up. I would not be as excited about most of these books as I would be without Adriana from perpetualpages introducing them into my life, so I highly recommend checking out her BookTube channel.

Don’t forget to check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads group if you are interested in making your own lists, and be sure to check out Sam’s channel while you’re at it.

Thanks, and happy reading!

One thought on “Guest Post: Most Recent Additions to Your Wishlist

Leave a Reply

