Giving my All

I don’t have many responses on my recent poll (which I would still love for you to vote on, by the way and if you already have thank you so much!), but there is one thing that has really stuck with me, and its causing me to reevaluate how I view this blog. On the question “What should I include in my Movie Reviews” these are the answers I’ve gotten:

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 10.15.34 AM.png

Now, I can’t say for certain why the people answered the way they did, but I got to flipping back through my old movie reviews and something really stuck out at me: they’re not very long. For many of them – like Wolverine, Guardians of the Galaxy, and Iron Man (just to name a few), I let my live tweets do the talking. Yes I enjoy doing the live tweets, yes they’re informational, and yes I think they’re funny (I definitely have a good time doing them), but they shouldn’t be the bulk of what I’m posting if I want to call it a ‘review.’ Then I got to wondering about my book reviews, the bulk of the blog, and realized that some of them – particularly those associated with the Alphabet Books Goal that I read a long time before posting the review – aren’t very long.

I know I can do better.

With college coming up – as I’ve said previously, I’m trying to schedule as many posts as possible, but I won’t be posting anywhere near as often – I’ve decided its extra important to focus on quality over quantity. I will be focusing on making my reviews as long and informative as possible (without filling it with nothing but fluff), and even though I’ve decided I may include spoilers I will always put them under a read more and inform you before including them. Another question on my poll actually covers what people would like to see in my reviews, and so heres what you have decided:

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 10.24.48 AM.png

I’m not sure what ‘other’ is, but I’m going to assume that means people want just typical book review things – aka: what I thought of the book – and that will definitely being in all of them (if this was you, feel free to tell me exactly what you meant!), but it was the rest of the responses that really excited me (gosh I’m such a nerd, getting excited over my data #proud).

From now on my motto is going to be “quality over quantity” and I hope that you feel it shows. If at any time you feel I’m not living up to expectations, just let me know! I want this blog to be as useful as possible – that’s what I’m here for – so please, give all the input you’d like, on my poll or in comments. Remember, you basically can’t hurt my feelings.

Leave a Reply

