Pokemon Go Book Tag

Tag Thursday

The Pokemon Go Tag was created by Read At Midnight and I was tagged by Mac of Nerds and Novels (whom you may remember for his recent guest post).

I love Pokemon so much, so I was delighted when this tag came along (and guys, let me tell you, it was everywhere, I swear to you every other post on my dash was this tag). Fun Fact: The first Pokemon game I ever played was Pokemon Diamond way back when you could still walk into a blockbuster’s store and rent games (pro tip: do not rent Pokemon games, it sucks when you have to give them back).

Tagging: I’m not tagging anyone, because I think everyone who wants to do it has done it, but if you want to say I tagged you feel free. And please, drop me the link to your tag!

And goodness is this tag long! In fact, its so long that I’m going to put the bulk of it under a read more despite trying to get away from doing that (partially because of the feedback on my survey which I would still love for you to complete!).

pokemon-tag-01starters

My first Pokemon in Pokemon Go was Charmander (because who doesn’t love a little fire dragon baby?), but my first Pokemon ever – and favorite – is Piplup, the adorable Penguin Pokemon (see my embroidered Piplip here). Seriously, when I first got Pokemon X for my DS I spent hours trolling the World Trading center trying to get one before Mac was kind enough to pass one on (I’ve since bred it with a Ditto and have ten or so), but the one from Mac is over level 60 and I’ve yet to evolve it (they’re cuter when they’re little!).

The book that started my love for reading was probably the Magic Tree House Series. Yes I’d already had Harry Potter and The Hobbit read to be by my mother, but Magic Tree House was the first that I read by myself.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

If you did that hack and got Pikachu as your starter – who discovered that anyway?? – then I am very JEALOUS of you because I think he’s adorable (I know some people think he’s overrated, but you know what? Screw them).

I will always love ANYTHING by JRR Tolkien, but for this – because for some reason people don’t always lump the Lord of the Rings in with traditional classics? – I’ll say Alexander Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo. It was probably one of the first true classics that I ever read and so it will always stick with me.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Zubat is everywhere in the traditional Pokemon games – and yes, trust me, it annoys me – but for me in Pokemon Go I’m much more likely to run across a Ratatta (which are cuter anyway).

For overdone book I’m going to have to say The Hunger Games by Susanne Collins. I really liked it back when I first read it – and I remember saying to my mom ‘I can’t imagine how they’ll make this into a movie but wouldn’t it be cool?’ – but I’ve only seen one of the movies (the first one) and I cringe a little whenever I see it. Not to mention, I blame it for the Dystopia genre spiraling out of control and now I cannot stand that genre anymore.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

Personally I really like Ditto and not just for its uses – although, as I mentioned previously, its gotten me about 10 Piplups – and I hope I can get one in Pokemon Go just because I think its really cute.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman is full of every cliche and stereotype under the sun but I love it anyway. Its just a really fun book (and movie) that I feel everyone should read at least once (or twice). See my movie review which includes a little on the book here.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

Isn’t Snorlax adorable? I actually managed to catch one in Pokemon Y and promptly named it Bai Bae after my best friend Bailey who will hopefully either never read this post or take that as a compliment (which it is meant to be, I swear!).

I’m going to say A Song of Ice and Fire / A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin even though I technically have started it (but I gave up on it because of the size). Even though its not really up my alley (too much sex and rape and incest, seriously calm your tits) I’d like to read more of it just so I can understand the phenomena.

pokemon-tag06-gengar

Personally I think the ghost type Pokemon are really cute and they don’t actually freak me out at all. Maybe its because they’re mostly purple in color. (and I just want to say, I’m writing this at Panera the guy next to me is saying “the thing that is being possessed by the possessor” but he’s a tutor talking about grammar and I’m trying not to laugh about how perfect the timing is).

Asylum by Madeleine Roux is by far the most terrifying thing I have ever read. Granted I try to avoid horror books, but still this thing was way too much for me (my mom liked it though).

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

These are actually two Pokemon that I’m not very familiar with, but I do know that they’re some of the few that their sex actually affects their appearance.

I have so many ships, but I’m going to have to say my main one is Tonks and Lupin (hey, if you’re gonna cry, ‘spoilers’ on me skip to the next question, okay?), and I was so happy about it. Imagine this: you’re a kid, reading Harry Potter for the first time, and your two favorite characters get married…. have a kid…. live happily ever after…. Wait, no, they don’t do that, BECAUSE THEY DIED. I am still salty about this.

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

I love Rapidash so much. I remember back when I was playing Pokemon Diamond spending hours hunting down one of these suckers (it was not easy, let me tell you).

As for ‘fast paced read’ I’m going to say Forever Red by Margaret Stohl (read my review!). Its a Black Widow book and its completely amazing and I finished it in record time (even though I was reading it way too close to finals, whoops).

 

pokemon-tag09-eevee

I love Eevee so much, all of them. In fact I have all of them on Alpha Sapphire (I traded for most of them, but some of them I evolved myself).

The series I will never tire of Spin-Offs for is Nancy Drew by Caroline Keene (like Buzz Kill by Beth Fantaskey which I reviewed), although that was a very close tie with Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, particularly Steampunk ones or ones with female leaders (or Stoker and Holmes by Colleen Gleason with is both of those things).

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

The thing about Magikarp is that it starts out being completely useless. Literally it just flops around and can’t do anything, but after a while, if you work really, really hard it can evolve into Gyrados which is a really useful Pokemon!

I was pleasantly surprised by The Selection Series (review of book one here) by Kiera Cass, who is now one of my favorite people and if you need to know why JUST SEE THIS RANT HERE. I don’t usually try romance or dystopia, but this one I made an exception for because it was so popular and I’m super glad I did.

 

pokemon-tag12-legendary

I think I’ve got a Zapdos – I got it through a promotion – but thats it for First Gen legendary. I’ve got all of them from Alpha Sapphire, and most from Pokemon X and Y, however.

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes looks amazing, I just ordered it and I’ve been saving it for a read-a-thon that I’ll be announcing soon. Everyone’s been talking about it, but since its Wonderland I’m fairly sure I’ll like it!

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I have a Mewtwo! Aren’t you proud of me? I missed the Mew giveaway at the beginning of the year (shame on me, I know!) but Mewtwo I actually have!

I don’t really collect ‘collector’s editions’ or boxed sets, but if it counts I wouldn’t mind having the boxed set of the Legend of Zelda manga series.

pokemon-tag10-egg

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes is a debut I believe. Even if its not, its her first “traditionally published” book and I’ll count it for that. As I said before, it looks really good and its set in Wonderland, so I cannot wait for it.

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

I have a few – not counting Tolkien because I have all of those that are currently available (because they’re out of print and super hard to track down for reasonable prices!)  – and so I’ll have to say three:

Gail Carson Levine (Ella Enchanted, A Tale of Two Castles (review), etc) is without a doubt an auto buy author because I just love her writing so much. I’ve also gotten to meet her and I can say she’s amazing.

Kiera Cass (The Selection Series, The Siren) is another auto-buy because 1) she’s just a great author, and 2) she’s super, super nice as I said before and I need to support her in all that she does.

Ruta Sepetys (Between Shades of Grey, Out of the Easy (review), Salt to the Sea (review)) is another whom I’ve met and have a great deal of respect for as an author and person.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Nothing makes me more frustrated than when I’ve driven somewhere – like to the mall – with my mom to go poke hunting and the server is down! Seriously, Niantic, can you please fix this? Pretty please with cherry on top?

I don’t usually get super into waiting on book releases (except Harry Potter! Always Harry Potter!), but I will list a few I’ve gotten into recently (except the obvious one they’ve all been released as of this post):

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys: I have been waiting on that book for three years (since I met her) because she was working on it and told us about it.

The Cursed Child by JK Rowling (and others): I think this one is pretty self-explanatory.

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman: I read the first book – Seraphina – and fell in love, but then the release of book two kept being pushed back! It was worth it in the end though.

Leave a Reply

