Books at the Her Universe Fashion Show

This year at Comic Con was the third annual Hot Topic and Her Universe fashion show. Now, I’m a huge fan of her Universe and Ashley Eckstein (who I know as the voice of Ahsoka Tano from Star Wars) so of course I was excited to see what all happened at the show. Needless to say A LOT OF GEEKERY. I wasn’t able to go, but I did vote on their website (its open until August 11th) and I wanted to cover the ones based on books. There are a lot more, of course, but the book ones were the best ones.

Disclaimer:

  • All photos belong to HER UNIVERSE and HOT TOPIC
    • Except the featured Image which belongs to TEEN VOGUE
  • All costumes, patterns, etc are property of their creators
  • All opinions stated are purely my own and are not meant to offend anyone

Jesse_Big.jpg

Falkor

Designer: Jesse

Fandom: The NeverEnding Story – Falkor

My Thoughts: I’ve not seen The NeverEnding Story in years (and I’ve never read it, sorry) but even I immediately knew what I was looking at (after debating if it might be a Pokemon). So it scores well in my opinion for that. Its also well constructed and very professional looking.

SarahHambly_Big.jpg

Hannibal’s Design

Designer: Sarah Hambly

Fandom: Red Dragon/Silence of the Lambs –Hannibal Lecter

My Thoughts: This dress kind of terrifies me, but in that good, Hannibal kind of way. It pays homage to the character without being overly obvious.

GraceDuVal_Big.jpg

The Dragon Beyond the Wall

Designer: Grace DuVal

Fandom: Game of Thrones – Jon Snow & Daenerys Targaryen

My Thoughts: I don’t know what this has to do with Dany – other than people apparently ship them despite that thing that came out at the end of the last season – and personally I think its a great representation of Jon without adding in Dany.

Notes: It makes much more sense now that I’ve seen this video, which shows that the dress turns into Dany.

AlexandraRay_Big

A Promised New Life

Designer: Alexandra “Rei Star” Ray

Fandom: Howl’s Moving Castle – Howl

My Thoughts: I’ve read most of the book – I can’t remember why I stopped, but I do intend to finish it one day – and I think this is a perfect representation. Its also just a beautiful dress that you can admire without knowing the background.

CamilleFalciola_Big

I Solemnly Swear I’m Up to No Good

2016 Audience Winner

Designer: Camille Falciola

Fandom: Harry Potter – Marauder’s Map

My Thoughts: Its based on the Marauder’s Map, which, while pretty cool, is something we’ve all seen done over and over and over. Someone clearly put a lot of time into it, I’m just not sure it was the most creative one there.

Notes: This video shows that the dress actually transformed – the map showing up as the model walked – and that makes it much cooler.

EricaWilliams_Big

Expecto Patronum

Designer: Erica Williams

Fandom: Harry Potter – Patronus 

My Thoughts: Its a very pretty dress, but to me it looks more like the Ghost of Ravenclaw tower than it does a Patronus. It also looks more like a regular prom dress than a cosplay, but I have to admit, it IS beautiful.

HarmonyLeiker_Big

Newt’s Menagerie

Designer: Harmony Leiker

Fandom: Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – Dragons

My Thoughts: I don’t know what this has to do with Dragons, its pretty, but not that dragon-y. I think the front panel might have a dragon on it, but then again, I’m not too sure.

SelinaZawacki_Big

The Always Dress

Designer: Selina Zawacki “SZMOON”

Fandom: Harry Potter – Patronus

My Thoughts: Severus Snape is overrated – and not a good person (just a stalker) – and the doe on this dress barely shows in this photo (its in the beading on the dress). Its nice, but eh. (The girl who designed it has purple hair though, so thats nice).

damngoodshindigdotcom who was there said that the dress was actually electrically engineered so that it lit up as the model walked the runway.

TanyaApuya_Big.jpg

The Story that Lived

Designer: Tanya Apuya

Fandom: Harry Potter – Book

My Thoughts: THIS WAS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE! It certainly got my vote, and I think you can love it no matter what fandom you like (because it doesn’t have to be a Harry Potter book!).

damngoodshindigdotcom who modeled the dress was kind enough to provide me a link to a few more photos!

 

4 thoughts on “Books at the Her Universe Fashion Show

  1. Thank you so much for loving and voting for the book dress!! My dear friend Tanya designed the dress, and I had the great privilege to model it. Here are some more photos of the details of the glorious book dress! https://imgur.com/a/F7aOf

    To address a few of your comments about the other (incredible) dresses:
    – The Game of Thrones dress actually transformed from Jon Snow into Daenerys, and then into a dragon, and was SO amazing. See it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD-mFqMh7ck
    – The Marauders’ Map dress was awesome because the fabric was actually electrically engineered to show the map print at a certain temperature – so the map literally appeared while the model was walking down the runway. The crowd went wild! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pet1U6r_2zI

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Also, the Severus Snape patronus dress was also electrically engineered. The dress was pure black when it entered the runway, and at the wave of her wand, the lights twinkled on to reveal the doe, and continued twinkling and changing as the model walked and twirled.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the comment and information! I thought I must be missing SOMETHING on most of the dresses that I was missing, but I had a hard time finding any more clips or video. I updated the post to add your information, and I wish your friend the best of luck!

        Like

Leave a Reply

