Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Genre:
Publisher:
Series: Book 8 of Harry Potter

Here is the review that I promised in my post about the Harry Potter Release Party!

There will be spoilers, but they will be down at the very bottom and under a read more (if you see the photo of me on the floor and you don’t want to see spoilers, then its time to turn back)!

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

As I said before: I actually liked this more than I thought that I would. Yes I know a lot of people have been saying “it read like fanfiction” and, while they’re not wrong, it would have been hard for it not to have for a variety of reasons:

  1. There is so much fanfic of Harry Potter that basically every possible plot has been explored at least twice.
  2. It kinda was? JK Rowling wasn’t the only author, so her co-authors basically were writing fanfic and then getting it okayed by her.
  3. Its not the old Harry Potter and it never will be. Nothing will ever again capture the magic like the first 7 books.
  4. The fans have very high expectations. Very high. Like, impossible to achieve high.

 

Complaints

  • I can, without spoiling anything, tell you that Teddy Lupin and Hagrid are not in this book and that is completely unacceptable.
  • I wish it were an actual book, rather than a play (of course, it would need to be like, at least three books to cover everything).
  • It was definitely fan-service.
  • Its slow to get moving; a large portion of the first bit of the book is just Harry and Albus complaining about their lives.

Overall

When I finished this book I literally feel off the couch and laid on the floor (pics below because it did happen and I can prove it). There were just so many feelings welling up inside me that I don’t really know what to do. The first thing I want to do is read it again, and then I’ll be able to tell you a bit more about how it made me feel.

If you like Harry Potter – and you’re not one of those people who think “she should just stop writing” which I’ve covered here – then this is definitely worth reading.

img_5249

Spoilers

Okay so I think one of the biggest complaints is the Aubrey, Voldemort’s daughter, which seems to be one of the things fans see as pushing it into the realm of “fan fiction.” This is an unfortunate trend: “Mary Sues” and “Self Inserts” seen so often in fan fiction have caused us to inherently lump all (female) children of established characters into “oh no not again” pile. To me, Delphi was an interesting – if slightly predictable (because, come on, I had guessed from her first appearance that she was a villain) – and surprisingly well written character. I can’t wait for video of the play to leak so we can see her in action.

Overall, I really felt as though this was JK Rowling’s response to a lot of things. It proved that Cedric’s death was important (which is something a lot of fans speculate about) and provided closure for his father, showed us that yes, Neville Longbottom is also a very important part of the plot, proved that not all Syltherins are evil, and of course, answered the ever important question: who is the trolley witch?

I had thought it was a bit suspicious that they were releasing so few photos of the cast, but I see why now: if they had, they would have have given a way a lot of the plot: how else would they explain dead characters like Snape, Voldemort, and Cedric showing up?

Delphi: Please see the video for the full list of Delphi and how she’s connected to Greek Mythos and yada-yada, but I will say: I found to to be interesting, but predictable. To me she was obviously the villain – I didn’t know why or how – but I knew it was her.

Instagram // Twitter // Youtube // Goodreads

Leave a Reply

