Avatar: The Last Airbender Season 1

Media Monday
TV Show Review
Contains Spoilers?

This goes on the very long list of things that I was the last person on earth to watch, and I’m kind of ashamed by that.

Of course, its not entirely my fault, I’d never even heard of it until high school, and at that point I wasn’t about to buy all of it to watch. So after my best friend discover that it was available on Amazon Prime video I didn’t have any excuse not to watch it.

I had a hard time getting into it at first. Its entirely possible that I was tool old getting into it, because I kept thinking “well that’s not realistic!” and having a hard time remembering that, as a kid’s show, its not meant to be realistic. Once I managed to convince myself of that, around episode seven or eight, I had much more fun and really started to get into it more.

The Characters

One thing that I had heard about this series was how diverse it was, and I’m forced to agree with that. It was incredible. I really found myself getting into all the characters, even the villains (and I am not the kind of person who is typically interested in villains).

Aang

I really loved Aang, he’s such a sweet character and I feel really bad for him and just want him to succeed. He also has the world’s best pet.

Katara 

She may very well be the best part of the entire show. She’s so no-nonsense and won’t let anything – especially sexism – get in her way. But she’s not just a fighter, there’s a whole other layer to her, and she’s allowed to be weak at times, unlike many ‘fighter girl’ characters.

Sokka

At first I couldn’t stand him because he was just so sexist and annoying,

Zuko

He’s one of the best villains ever written and there were times I found myself cheering for him over the heroes.

Uncle Iroh 

I wouldn’t consider Zuko’s uncle to be a villain by any means, but he’s definitely a complex character and I can’t wait to see how he continues to be developed.

Live Tweets

3 thoughts on “Avatar: The Last Airbender Season 1

Leave a Reply

