I Messed Up

NaBloPoMo 2016 #10
This Tag Thursday is by ReadLikeWildFire on Youtube
Pretending ItsABookishThing tagged me

A Character Appearance You Misread and Imagined Differently

I’m not sure about this one.

A Character Name You’ve Been Pronouncing Wrong

Probably a lot. I wasn’t one of the ones who messed up Hermione, because my mom knew some people with that name when she was a kid, but I’m sure there are a ton I’ve messed up.

Like the main character of Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I knew I was messing it up so I just called her Aggie.

Overused Trope that is Your Guilty Pleasure

I also like “fight to the death” / “only one can live” but not in the traditional, Hunger Games sense.

  • Harry Potter
    • “Only one can live while the other survives.”
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
    • Three princesses are born each generation and one must defeat the other two to claim the crown.
  • Dualed by Elsie Chapman
    • Everyone has a twin who was raised by a different family and you have to either kill them or be killed.

I love the “lost princess” trope more than I should say. Its really, really good, and even better when theres politics involved (I love Politics in my High Fantasy!).

A Cliche Character that You Like Better on Screen than in Books

“Obnoxious Leader is Actually Funny”

I feel like this is a trope that works better on screen than in any other medium, so long as the actor knows what they’re doing. Because then they can use their face (which, yes facial expressions can be described in books, but its easier in movies).

A Word/Phrase that You Learned Because of its Use in a Book

A lot. I can’t even being to say how many words and phrases I’ve learned from books, but the problem with that is, that I don’t pronounce most of them “correctly.” Listening to me speak is pretty interesting, because I’m a very phonetic person and pronounce words exactly how they’re written.

My mom tried to get me speech therapy at one point (because even before the phonetical problems kicked in I had a mild speech impediment), but the school said “Don’t worry, the other kids will pick on her and she’ll self correct.” They did pick on me, and I learned not to trust people.

Have You Ever Not Read or Not Completed a Required Book for School?

Feed by MT Anderson

I had to say any book was bad….. but it was.

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

I like Shakespeare plays, but I detest reading them. I do have a book at home that I use for some school stuff,

Frankenstien by Mary Shelly

I tried to read this, I really did, but I could not for the life of me get into it.

Have You Ever (or Wanted to) Skipped a Chapter from a Certain Character’s POV?

The main reason I stopped reading A Song of Ice and Fire (other than the rampant rape) after the second book was because I only really liked a few of the characters. I only really liked Dany and Tyrion, and could only stand the chapters by them, occasionally Cersi, and Arya. Everyone else’s chapters I just wanted to skip, especially John Snow’s.

Have You Ever Canceled Social Plans to Read a Book?

No, not really. Not anymore. I don’t make a lot of social plans, but when I do I almost always go. I used to, all the time, to get out of having to be with my then best friend (pro tip: if you fake illness or injury to get out of seeing your ‘friend’ you shouldn’t be friends with them).

Leave a Reply

